Mount Morgan is a world famous goldmining town, just 38 kilometres south west of Rockhampton and is part of Central Queenslands “CAPRICORN REGION”.
Nestled in the foothills of the Dee range, this picturesque town has a wealth of historic buildings and stories that just have to be seen and heard to believe.
Gold was discovered by William McKinley on “Ironstone Mountain” in 1874 and mining started in 1882 when the Morgan Brothers pegged out their claim.
The Morgan brothers then renamed it to Mount Morgan and thus started a chain of events that made this one of the greatest gold mines in history.
Tours operate daily and include, the historic town, the goldmine site and the large man made caves to view the many dinosaur footprints on the cave roof.
Join Mount Morgan Mine Tours for a fascinating tour of the world famous gold and copper mine. This is no ordinary tour, but a fun filled historic experience.
Our tours depart at 9.30 am and 1.30 pm from our Mount Morgan tour office in Central street, (look for the big green dinosaur on the shop roof).
As we journey back through time to the era of the dinosaurs, this tour includes,
Historic town tour.
Historic gold and copper mine.
Largest open cut gold mine (1981).
Largest man made caves.
Dinosaur footprints on the cave roof.
“History with humour”.
Devonshire tea & coffee.
A tour of the gold mine and caves takes approximately 2 to 2 ½ hours, and includes a short town tour, the mine site and the opencut, also the large man made caverns to view the dinosaur footprints.
These tours operate daily at 9.30 am and 1.30pm from our tour office at 38 Central street Mount Morgan. All tours conclude with a complimentary Devonshire tea.
Half day tour
(This tour is conducted daily using our 20 seat air-conditioned bus).
8.30 am. Pick up from Rockhampton accommodation and transport to Mount Morgan.
9.15 am. Tea, coffee and muffin.
9.30 am. Depart for mine and cave tour.
11.30 am. Return to tour office for Devonshire tea.
12.00 pm. Depart for Rockhampton.
Gold panning is also available as an option and the tourists can keep any gold recovered.
(This is for group tours only at this time).
The following costs will be valid until further notice.
Half day tour
Groups by arrangement
Fax 07 4938 2081
He now refers to himself as a "refugee from Sydney", (3.5 million people and traffic lights, to 3,500 people and no traffic lights). After a few weeks in Mount Morgan, and some visits to the mine site, it soon became apparent that controlled access to the mine site by tourists was required. After many months of negotiation tourist access to the mine site was obtained in July 1991. In august 1992 a new bus was acquired and the tours were restructured to twice-daily seven days a week.
On June 6th 1994 (50 years to the day after the D-Day landing in France), the caravan park was sold and a new tour office was opened at 38 Central Street Mount Morgan. Through much hard work and dedication by Bob and his long suffering wife Judy and family, the tours have a reputation as one of the best value tours in Australia and the world. (comments by many local and overseas tourists).
Bob and his family can now share this unique experience with people from all over the world, with international tourists increasing each week. Written tour tranlations are also available in several languages including, Check, Danish, French, German, Hungarian, Japanese, and Spanish.