Guest Reviews

Overall Rating: 68 Reviews



Casa Ensenada is clean, comfortable, & convenient

Judith -- Jan 06, 2011 11:58 pm
We stayed at Casa Ensenada the last week in Dec. in the Estudio. The inn is conveniently situated in walking distance of restaurants and grocery stores (which are only open limited hours, especially on Sun.). The estudio is very spacious with a comfortable king bed and futon, mini-fridge and microwave. We found it difficult to get from the airport to Casa Ensenada, as there were no publicos around and when we tried calling some of them on cellphone, we got either no answer or a machine. (maybe that was because it was a Sunday, the day after Christmas.) The guest house has a nice dock in back for guests to use, but it can be crowded if 3 families/couples decide to use it at the same time. Overall, Casa Ensenada is a clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay on Culebra, with a lovely view on the water in back.



A cozy guesthouse on Culebra's main harbor

Daniel -- Dec 19, 2010 01:56 pm
During our visit to Culebra we stayed at Casa Ensenada, a cozy guesthouse on Culebra's main harbor within walking distance to the ferry, grocery stores and restaurants. Our room, the perfect size for a couple, had a queen bed and kitchenette. Casa Ensenada provided a clean, comfortable, secure environment where to relax while sitting on a hammock chair watching boats in the harbor. Every need was thought for; a place to grill, picnic tables, chairs, even a kayak and snorkeling gear. We visited many beaches, some golden sanded and deserted others perfect for snorkeling. The small town and friendly atmosphere made sightseeing and exploring the island a truly enjoyable experience.



The most relaxing and romantic place

Matthew -- Dec 14, 2010 10:16 am
Casa Ensenada was a great get away. We were in the Grande suite. It was very comfortable and clean. We stayed over the Thanksgiving weekend. The view was beautiful, the staff was friendly (even though the manager had the flu) she was there and ready to help. The down side to the island is also the upside it has a very small population and very few stores. I suggest that you bring groceries with you especially if you are coming on a holiday weekend. We had planned to pick things up when we got there but our flight was delayed 3 hours and that put us in after everything had closed. They roll the streets up at 9pm. The next day was Thanksgiving and nothing was open. Luckily Mamcitas opened for lunch. They have a great lunch selection and the iguanas visit while you eat. The signs that say don't feed the iguanas are not a joke. I highly suggest you rent a car when on the island the beaches are several miles away from the town area. We went with Jerry's his cars are a little older but they get you where you need to go. He was nice and accommodating. The restaurants are great I don't think we had a meal that was not delicious. Some can be a bit pricy but you expect that on an island this small.I highly recommend this island and hotel for anyone who just wants to get away from it all. THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A RESORT WITH CABANA BOYS AND PLANNED EXCURSIONS. If you want to unplug and be in the most relaxing and romantic place you can imagine this is the place for you.



Excellent location. We hope to go back again.

Enid -- Dec 10, 2010 04:19 pm
That's our second time in Casa Ensenada and the first for my husband family, we love the place and their love it too. Excellent location. We hope to go back again. Thanks for the hospitality.



We loved everything about the property.

Scott -- Dec 09, 2010 08:39 am
We stayed in the Grande room and It is centrally located with a nice patio/doc. The kitchen is well equipped which was the main reason we rented the property. The hot water is plentiful and the bedroom and livingroom are spacious. Culebra is a very low-key beautiful island (during the off-season- in august) I would recommend renting a Jeep as some roads can be rough. Flamenco beach is spectacular. We also Zoni beach and there is plenty of snorkeling around the island. We also explored side-roads to get a flavor of the island (we even made a quick trip to the local cemetary to get a sense of the local history. The only downside is lots of mosquitos in Culebra so bring repellent. (There is Raid in the room.) For a surprisingly good meal check out Mamacita's restaurant which is walking distance. The property managers are friendly and I would certainly recommend this property to anyone, see you in Culebra!!



I will definitely stay at Casa Ensenada again.

James -- Oct 08, 2010 09:43 am
My 8 year-old son and I stayed in the Pequeño unit over the Labor Day weekend. The guest house is very conveniently located - walking distance to the ferry dock and the restaurants "in town," and you could walk to the airport, though I would recommend a taxi. We rented a car and had no problem parking across the street the entire weekend. If you're planning to visit primarily Flamenco Beach and eat at the restaurants in town, you don't need a car. If you want to get out to some of the more remote beaches (Zoni, Tamarindo), or to the restaurants that are outside of the town, a car is useful.

The unit itself is comparable to a large hotel room in size. It does provide a hot plate, toaster, coffee maker and some pots, pans, dishes and glasses. It has a dormitory size refrigerator. If you're like me and use a lot of ice, you'd be smart to buy a bag and keep it in the fridge, as the tiny ice trays, while serviceable, won't keep you in constant ice. I wouldn't count on cooking any elaborate meals in the room, but we had no problem with making breakfast (coffee, toast, Pop Tarts). The bathroom is large and the shower water pressure was fine while we were there. The AC worked perfectly well. Bath and beach towels are provided.

Aside from the location, however, the best part of Casa Ensenada is the back patio, which is right on the bay. There is a gas grill available, though we didn't use it while we were there. There are chairs, tables and a hammock to sit in and relax while looking out over the water. I enjoyed taking my coffee out to the yard in the early morning and drinking it while looking out over the bay. There is a boat dock, and while we were there other guests in the Estudio and Grande units docked their boats there. I would imagine that having use of the dock is super convenient for those coming to Culebra in their own boat.

Although we arrived shortly after the brush with Hurricane Earl, we had no problems either at Casa Ensenada or in getting to and from Culebra from San Juan. We flew round-trip on Vieques Air Link from Isla Grande for $100 per person. To me, the savings in time and hassle realized by taking a 25 minute flight, compared with a one hour (if you're lucky) drive to Fajardo, parking, and getting on a 90 minute ferry ride, more than outweigh the additional cost. YMMV. That is not even taking into consideration the ferry problems in effect while we were there due to damage to the ferry dock from the storm. I do understand that the ferry problems have been (mostly) resolved as of now.

Long story short - I will definitely stay at Casa Ensenada again. If you plan on cooking most of your own meals, or simply want a bit more room, I would recommend the Estudio or Grande units, but if you are a couple who will be eating out for most of your meals and will not be using the room as much more than a place to sleep, the Pequeño is an excellent option.

Everything you would expect and much more!

Monica -- Oct 08, 2010 09:37 am
Rented the "pequeño" and "grande" for the 2010 Labor Day Weekend. Went to Tortugo Beach, Dakiti, ect. Everything you would expect and much more! I do not have a thing to complaint about. Right at the water, walking distance to town, great views, excellent attention fron the administrators and equiped with everything you would need for a great weekend, week or month. Definitely will book it again, next time the whole "casa". Tx for the great memories!!!

The place is well located, a quiet area.

David -- Aug 07, 2010 11:22 am
Es mi tercera estadia en Casa Ensenada, el lugar esta bien localizado, area tranquila, comercios cercas los cuales pudes visitar apie. Lugar perfecto pra descansar, rentar un auto y visitar las playas o toda la isla.Personal servicial, buenos apartamentos.

It is my third stay at Casa Ensenada. The place is well located, a quiet area , close to shops which can be visited. A perfect place to rest, rent a car and visit the beaches or the entire island. Personal are helpful. Good apartments.



Casa Ensenada had everything we needed

Linda -- Jul 06, 2010 10:29 am
We arrived at Casa Ensenada April 28th & stayed 9 nights until May 6th, 2010. This was our first trip out of the US & we loved it! We stayed in the Pequeno unit at Casa Ensenada, a quaint room that was very clean. It had everything we needed - air conditioning, ceiling fans, dishes & silverware, a toaster, blender, hotplate, cooler to take to the beach & beach towels. There was even snorkel equipment left by a previous guest & we borrowed that while we were there. We took a small 8-passenger plane from San Juan over to Culebra & then on their advice took the ferry back. The manager recommended a car rental & we had fun driving around the island in a 1974 VW "Thing". The last day we were there, we chartered a water taxi and enjoyed our trip to the Island of Culebrita very much. Casa Ensenada was right near the downtown area & we were able to walk to the grocery store which enabled us to make our own breakfasts & lunches & then eat out at night -also within walking distance. And the taxis to Flamenco Beach drove by our villa & were easy to access. Gifts shops were also close as was the US Post Office, the clinic & the harbour. There were other nice touches - a bookcase in the lobby that had books available to borrow. Our room had a journal that previous guests had written in. This was very useful & gave us lots of good ideas. It was pleasant sitting outside near the dock to eat breakfast. We also enjoyed hearing the roosters crow every morning. Casa Ensenada is not the Marriott but we weren't looking for a Marriott. We wanted a place to stay that was affordable, friendly, where we had what we needed & could get a good night's sleep before heading off on our adventures. We loved Culebra & hope to return within a year - just the 2 of us again & then another trip with our 4 adult children. The ocean was just unbelievable as were the beaches & the coral reefs. Thank you Jackie, Butch & Karen for helping us make such a wonderful memory!!!


We spent a wonderful week at Casa Ensenada

Sarah -- Mar 14, 2010 10:41 pm
We spent a wonderful week in Culebra at Casa Ensenada. The weather was spectacular, the island was beautiful, Casa Ensenada was located close to town and the Grande Room was spacious and had a beautiful view of the harbor - not to mention the lovely additional outdoor space where we spent lots of time enjoying a cocktail and soaking up the sunshine. The whole trip exceeded our expectations & we would highly recommend this island/guest house for anybody looking for a slice of paradise!

Casa Ensenada...What a wonderful location!

Ronnie -- Feb 19, 2010 10:53 pm
We stayed at Casa Ensenada in 2008. What a wonderful location! The simplicity of everything was so refreshing. We walked a lot but did rent a golf cart for a day or two. The snorkeling was beautiful! We are trying to plan a vacation to take our adult children back with us. Everyone is so friendly. One day, while waiting on a bus, a couple stopped and asked if they could give us a lift...and they did! How great is that! Can't wait to come back to Culebra!!



We really enjoyed Casa Ensenada!

Gary -- Feb 18, 2010 12:19 am
We really enjoyed Culebra and our weeklong stay at Casa Ensenada! My wife and I stayed in both the Estudio and the pequeno. Since cooking was not on our vacation "to do list" both were very comfortable and adequate. Prepare for roosters crowing at 4:30 in the morning (everywhere). Casa Ensenada is perfectly located for walking to all of the restaurants in town. The kayak was a real plus, great for seeing the harbor. Also when you go to Flamenco beach, take the kneeboard which is under the office. It's great for body surfing. Pack light, all dining is outside and shorts or swimwear is appropriate everywhere. Butch and Jackie are great hosts and provide coolers for use at the beach as well as towels. We will definitely be back as soon as we can and we'll be staying at Casa Ensenada!



Casa Ensenada was absolutely fantastic!!

Nancy -- Dec 21, 2009 05:27 pm
Casa Ensenada was absolutely fantastic!! Beautiful, well kept apartment (we stayed in the Grande), right on the water, easily walkable from the ferry, and very reasonable. I am so very glad my husband and I stayed there.

Clean, comfortable, affordable. A great location.

Charlotte -- Nov 24, 2009 11:03 am
We (four adults) stayed at Casa Ensenada in October 2009. Mother Nature graced us with perfect weather and Casa Ensenada graced us with clean, comfortable, affordable lodging in a great location. We awoke with the roosters to have coffee on the dock while the sun came up - honestly, one of our best memories - it became our time to plan the day. We rented a vehicle and visted several beaches. The snorkeling and boogie boarding were just what we imagined. The people were gracious. I'd like to think I could do this again some day.



I highly recommend Casa Ensenada!

Phil -- Nov 20, 2009 02:52 pm
We just got back home from another excellent and thoroughly enjoyable stay on Culebra. This was our second year staying at Casa Ensenada. I highly recommend this place! Great location, comfortable accommodations, awesome patio on the bay, a great place to call home during your stay on Culebra. Already started the countdown for next year!

We loved La Casa Ensenada!

Maria -- Oct 20, 2009 06:57 am
We loved La Casa Ensenada! Good location, the room (Grande) was great, and Butch and Jackie were so helpful! We look forward to coming again for a longer stay! The kayak is a plus! :-)

We had a wonderful time!!

Maritza -- Aug 14, 2009 12:59 pm
We had an unforgettable time with the family. Stayed at the Grande room and loved it, well equipped and very comfortable. The pier was very convenient for our boat. We are looking forward to staying in Casa Ensenada again next year.

We had a wonderful stay.

John -- Aug 11, 2009 05:48 am
We had a wonderful stay. The location on the bay was sweet, easy walking to town for restaurants, the room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Use of the kayak was a nice addition.

John and Cindy
Lake Placid, New York, US




We will definitely recommend Casa Ensenada.

Hector -- Aug 05, 2009 07:53 am
Casa Ensenada was very nice the Grande Room is very comfortable. The whole experience there is very nice. We will definitely recommend Casa Ensenada.





Grande Apartment Was Very Clean and Confortable

Noel -- Jun 20, 2009 09:00 am
I went to Culebra and stayed at the Grande apartment. It was very clean and confortable. My family included a 4 months twins girls and a 4 years boy. We used our boat and docking at Casa Enseanada was very easy. The Manager was very helpful and she was availble for any need we may have. I look forward to staying again with other relatives and friends because I want them to experience Culebra and Casa Ensenada.


Casa Ensenada Was Awesome

Javier -- Jun 18, 2009 05:26 am
We went to Casa Ensanada on april 25-26 09, and it was awesome. We felt like we were in our own beach house, everything we needed was there in that confortable room. Even it was a rainy weekend we spend 2 days of relaxing and unforgetable moments. Strongly suggested.


Casa Ensenada was the best place we stayed.

Mat -- Jun 10, 2009 12:00 pm
Casa Ensenada was definitely one of the best places we stayed during our week in puerto rico (weekend on Culebra). The Staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Pequeno unit. It was affordable, and being there really made you feel like you had your own home on the harbor. During our stay we body surfed at Flamenco beach, which was great. One day we rented a jeep (totally worth it) and drove all over the island beach hopping then went to dinner at juanita bananas up on the hill. This was one of the best meals in the most beautiful settings. Our last day there we hired a super nice guy named Rob from dinghy dock to take us to Culebrita Island, which is stunning, just be careful of the bees which will swarm around you if you're holding fresh water. apparently they're dehydrated. The beach we saw there was probably the most beautiful ever, and the tide pools are extremely cool. All in all it was a great experience, We'd stay there again.


We will return to Casa Ensenada

Nora -- Apr 08, 2009 05:37 pm
We stayed for a week in the Pequeno room. The room was very adequate for us, everything was clean, fridge and coffee maker in room--ceiling fan was all we needed to stay cool. The patio out back was great, right on the bay and perfect for hours of reading and relaxing. We could walk most places, short and cheap cab ride to Flamenco. It was just the quiet getaway we needed. We would definitely go back to Casa Ensenada!!

What a wonderful place you have!

Rhonda -- Feb 17, 2009 11:41 am
What a wonderful place you have! Thank you for a fantastic and relaxed holiday weekend.

We plan to come back to Casa Ensenada

David -- Dec 15, 2008 11:58 pm
We stayed at Casa Ensenada from 11/21 - 11/25 totaly wished we could have stayed longer. We were in the Grande room which was more than enough space for the two of us. The views of the harbor were beautiful and the breeze that comes in through the kitchen after a day out in the beach was perfect. Nights looking at the stars while sitting at the end of the dock were exactly the kind of break from the hustle & bustle of NYC. Everyone we dealt with at Casa Ensenada was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. All the little shops are just lovely and our trips to Flamenco, Carlos Rosario, Tamarindo and Punta Soledad beaches were absolutely breathtaking. Dinhgy Dock had some great fresh Huck fish and Mamasita's on Saturday night was loads of fun. Everyone we encountered on this beautiful island was soo warm and welcoming. We already are planning to come back to Puerto Rico sometime next year with Culebra and Casa Ensenada as our main objects of interest. Thanks for a great experience!


A wonderful experience at Casa Ensenada

Tony -- Jul 28, 2008 11:13 am
We stayed in the Pequeño room over Memorial Day weekend and had a wonderful experience at Casa Ensenada. Our room was equipped with everything we needed, was clean, comfortable and was more than enough space for two. Having a fridge and toaster was great for keeping and preparing breakfast- also the free luggage storage really did give us an extra day on the beach. Flamenco beach is absolutely picturesque, and Carlos Rosario is an amazing, secluded beach for great snorkeling (totally worth the hike.) Mamacita's was the best for nightlife- try the bushwacker. Overall, a wonderful stay, thanks!!


Culebra!

Kahy -- Jul 21, 2008 03:15 pm
I just love Casa Ensenada. The location is perfect, it is clean and reasonably priced. Just thinking about the view on the deck is making me relax. I will visit again and again and will always stay at Casa Ensenada. Flamenco beach is gorgeous and there is some really good food to be had on the island. Just ask any of the friendly folks there... they will steer you in the right direction.

Casa Ensenada is the place for you.

Kathryn -- Apr 11, 2008 04:39 am
We stayed in the Estudio at Casa Ensenada for three nights in early March of this year. Going to Culebra Island and staying here was the highlight of our trip. The gracious hosts helped us with pre-trip planning etc. and ideas upon arrival (Dinghy Dock..Mamacitas..Pandeli for breakfast (we also got lunch packs from there)...and eating from the vendors at Flamenco. Casa Ensenada is in walking distance of these "downtown" restaurants and you can catch a bus to Flamenco Beach. Once we got to the island we were able to RELAX and get away from it all. The beaches are beautiful and not crowded. It was great to be able to go to a beach for the day and come back and hang out on the back patio with a good book. I ran out of time as my sister and I had plans for the kayak and we didn't get to it! Next time, we will plan on a longer stay. If you are looking for a place to relax, that has everything you need without being pretentious.. Casa Ensenada is the place for you.


I would recommend Casa Ensenada for a pleasant st

Maureen -- Apr 08, 2008 11:22 am
We were only going to stay at Casa Ensenada for 3 nights but we loved the island of Culebra so much and our hosts were so helpful that we extended our stay an extra night. We stayed in the Pequeno room which was pleny of room for the two of us. We used the grill to cook a couple of times. The view from the back is fabulous. Everything we needed was supplied. It is within walking distance to everything. We only rented a jeep one day to go snorkling. It is easy to take the taxi to the beach from town. Only two dollars. I would like to thank Jackie for sending us to Barbara Rosa's,best place we ate on the island. We are already talking about going back.


We had such a great time in Culebra

-- Jan 07, 2008 09:50 pm
We had such a great time in Culebra that we did not want to leave!!! Casa Ensenada played a big part in making our vacation so memorable. It was extremely clean, comfortable and really cosy! Butch and Jackie were extremely helpful and they provided us with insider's information on the best beaches and restaurants to go. We missed breakfast on the dock, kayaking to watch the sunset and hanging out with Cocoa! We will definitely come back to Casa Ensenada the next time we are in Culebra.


We stayed at Casa Ensenada

-- Dec 25, 2007 09:52 am
We stayed at Casa Ensenada in November for 4 nights and had an amazing time in Culebra! The people are SO friendly; the snorkeling is fantastic (Melones beach); and Flamenco and Zoni beaches are absolute gems! The drive to Zoni beach on a scooter was so beautiful! Perhaps the best view in the Caribbean is at the top of the hill just before Zoni beach, looking at Culebrita and St. Thomas. Butch & Jackie (and friendly Cocoa) are wonderful hosts, and they provide the perfect mix of being helpful and giving you privacy. The Pequeno room was just fine for two people, and you definitely can't beat the price. It's a perfect location to walk to restaurants, stores, etc. The woman at the dive/gift shop next door is wonderful & very helpful. Wear lots of suncreen and OFF, and you'll be set for an incredible experience! We'll daydream about this heavenly island until we return next year!


Culebra and Casa Ensenada

-- Sep 06, 2007 06:32 am
My stay in Culebra and at Casa Ensenada was out of this world. It is definitely my new favorite destination. Old favorites were Placentia, Belize, Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica, and Playa del Carmen, Mexico.

I loved my room (Pequeño). Everything I needed and location was spectacular.

The kayak was a real plus too. I took it out several times for multi-hour excursions.

Also, I managed a couple days of scuba diving (with Taz) and snorkeling almost every day.

Since I ONLY had six days on the island, I didn't have time to hit many of the beaches so I will have to come back!








Maribel -- Feb 12, 2007 
We spent a weekend at Casa Ensenada during the holidays and we had a great time. The place is very clean and comfortable. It is close to the restaurants and the town. The owners are very nice people and treated us very well, trying to recommend places to eat and beaches to visit. If you are visiting Culebra I strongly recommend Casa Ensenada, you will enjoy your stay and have a great time. -- Maribel y Fernando


Scott -- Jan 30, 2007 
Casa Ensenada was cozy, clean and close to everything to make our short stay very enjoyable. Culebra was beautiful. Great snorkeling, diving, beaches, with lots of cats and chickens! We would like to return for a longer stay. -- Scott and Marsha


Joan -- Jan 30, 2007 
The week was not long enough for me. I enjoyed my stay on Culebra and was delighted with the choice of Casa Ensenada for my residence while there. It was so easy to walk to town, the Pandeli for morning coffee and a pastry and even to Flamenco Beach. Dinghy Dock was also good for breakfast though service was slow. Life at Mamacitas was lively and friendly. Jackie and Butch have mastered the art of hosting their guests with the right amount of friendliness and discretion. I was in the perfect location as a single woman on the island. I walked all over and always felt safe, even late evening. Jerry rented me a car for a day to see the "other side" of the island. There are so many stories of life on Culebra. I need to return to learn more. Barbara Rosa's served a wonderful meal, just steps away from Casa Ensenada. Would have liked company for the double kayak though! At night I sat under the stars in pjs at the end of the 65 foot dock; with a warm gentle breeze it was my version of paradise. Enjoy! -- Joan


Jorge -- Nov 14, 2006 
You should not rule out Casa Ensenada which is run by Jackie & Butch Pendergast. They have a room that will fit 4 people comfortably with one bedroom having a king sized bed. You can call 866 210-0709 or 787 742-3559 for availability and information. They are located within walking distance to town and the airport which makes for a very short taxi ride to Flamenco Beach. -- Jorge Flores


Debbie -- Nov 12, 2006 
we stayed here in mid-September 2006 and all i can say is WOW !! CASA ENSENADA could very well possibly be the best value in CULEBRA as you will definitely get any more than you pay for ! this entire place is simply wonderful ! the rooms are clean,spacious, and well stocked with everything you could ever need.i mean everything from nice dishes and cookware to coolers and beach-chairs to tote around the island. plus use of the 2 person kayak (at no extra charge mind you) ! this place is in a prime location on, right on HONDA BAY. beautiful and within easy walking distance to everything except the big draw beaches i.e. FLAMENCO OR ZONI !!they however are only a short drive away ! i loved staying here and most definitely will be back next trip in either September or October !!! thanks Jackie and Butch. Deborah Hernandez - island vacation girl -- island vacation girl - Debbie


Susan -- Aug 15, 2006 
We loved Casa Ensenada. Rosarito was great. The other guests were good company. Access to a dock was terrific, although we never did get around to using the kayak. Location was good. But most of all, there was just a pleasant feel about the way the place was set up to welcome us - trusting and practical. Those fake iguanas were fun. I liked the map of the US where people marked where they came from. -- Susan. Ithaca, New York


Jan -- Jun 15, 2006 
I had a wonderful time during my stay in May at Casa Ensenada. I rented the Grande apt. for 2 weeks and I must tell you that your guesthouse is one of the most charming,efficient, well stocked little lodgings I have ever seen. First of all, it was very clean and well kept. All of the appliances are modern and in good working condition. The windows all had glass and screens and window blinds that were all in good working condition as well. The bathroom was modern and the stand up shower had good water pressure as well as hot water on demand. The ceiling fans in every room were a great feature also. The linens and towels were soft and fluffy and clean. The kitchen was amply stocked with nice dishes,glassware, wine goblets,pots and pans,and a good supply of silverware and utensils for every need. There was a coffee pot ,toaster, and microwave along with a full size refrigerator and range. All of these were modern and clean. I loved sitting out on the patio at the waterfront. The patio furniture was clean and in great condition. The gas grill was much appreciated. It feels like you are at your own house when you spend time on the patio. I thought it was very nice that you supply coolers and beach chairs for your guests. The foyer area in the front section of the apartments is very charming with the hand painted decor and interesting reading material for those looking to gain knowledge about the island. The guesthouse is at a great location. Walk to town in a few minutes. The El Eden, Mayra, Milka, and Pandeli were all excellent places to find food, drinks, pastries,etc. All of these are within a few minutes walk of Casa Ensenada. Overall, I would give your little guesthouse a great rating because of all the little things that you have added to make your apartments more comfortable. Culebra is truly a gem of the Caribbean, and Casa Ensenada provides a great place to enjoy it. -- Jan Hoffman, Hummelstown, Pa.


Connie -- Apr 01, 2006 
I am a seasoned Culebra traveler. I have visited the Island now three times and wish I could get in a trip this year but it will have to be 2007. I have stayed on all three occasions at Casa Ensenada and cannot say enough great things about this guest house or its owners, Butch and Jackie. I would not stay anywhere else!! It is within walking distance to absolutely everything and you can always catch a van to Playa Flamenco for $2.

Casa Ensenada has a gorgeous back deck area and you can save money by using the nice big grill to cook some of your meals. The free kayak is a great way to explore, especially Iguana alley!

If you have more questions about Casa Ensenda or Culebra send me an email. I am so jealous reading about all of your upcoming trips. Wish I could make it this year!


Kathy -- Mar 29, 2006 
My husband and I stayed at Casa Ensenada. It was a wonderful experience! Unlike the large resorts, Jackie and Butch made our stay very personal and “homey.” Both our host and hostess were able to relay a wealth of information about activities on Culebra as well as the local politics. Coco, their dog, really made us feel as though we were guests in someone’s home. All the shops, grocery stores, and restaurants were in walking distance. We had a great time using the kayak. We highly recommend Casa Ensenada! -- Kathy and Alan


Joe -- Mar 22, 2006 
My wife and I stayed at Casa Ensenada in November 2005. This was our third stay on Culebra, but the best! I love the location of Casa Ensenada. I't just a walk to town and groceries. The accomodations allowed us to cook meals in our apartment when we wanted. We also were within walking distance of restaurants. We are planning on another trip to Culebra and a reservation with Casa Ensenada is our first step. -- Joe Leary


Duane -- Dec 03, 2005 
Our stay at Casa Ensenada was wonderful -- we only wish we could have stayed longer. Jackie & Butch were very hospitable and the place is a great site from which to explore the many wonders of Culebra. Jackie was helpful is providing travel information from San Juan to Culebra and Butch is very knowledgeable about his boat rentals from the place. We look forward to our next visit -- Duane & Cynthia McCullough


Lance -- May 26, 2005 
We had visited Culebra in February and were not pleased with our overpriced, dark and cramped accomodations so in May we looked elsewhere and found Casa Ensenada. We were very pleased. The Estudio was light, spacious, had a well equipped kitchen which we used every night along with the grill, and it had a king size bed. And everything was clean. Karen and Dave took good care of us in Butch and Jackie's absence. It was a great week and we are already planning our next visit. A very fair price, too. -- Lance and Donna


Mike -- Feb 04, 2005 
My wife & I discovered Culebra and stayed at Casa Enesnada in January 2005. It was far too short of a stay (2 nights Estudio), but enough to make us certain we will return. We rented the 20 HP tiller skiff from Butch and explorsed the outer islands. It was fantastic. Butch & Jackie were perfect hosts, and were nice enough to loan us the truck so I could take my wife to the island clinic when she became ill. The island was captivating, the accomodations were clean & homey. The view of the Honda was outstanding. -- Mike & Beverly Harper


JONATHAN -- Jan 03, 2005 
FABULOUS! THANKS JACKIE AND BUTCH FOR BEING GREAT HOSTS. WE PLAN TO BE BACK FOR MORE THAN OUR 3 NIGHT STAY. IT WAS JUST A TEASER AS THERE IS SO MUCH MORE TO SEE ON CULEBRA THAN 3 DAYS CAN AFFORD YOU. BREATHTAKING FLAMENCO BEACH, TAMARINDO FOR UNBELIEVABLE SCENERY WITH A BEER AND SNACK, RICHARD AT THE DIVE SHOP(SO HELPFUL),ZONI BEACH FOR THE LONELY STRETCH OF PARADISAIC BEACH ,MAMACITAS WITH EXCELLENT FOOD AND AMBIANCE, THE DINGY DOCK FOR BREAKFAST AND CASA ENSENADA FOR CLEAN COMFORTABLE ACOMODATIONS.INCREDIBLE! -- JONATHAN AND KERI MILLS


Jennifer -- Dec 24, 2004 
I stayed in the grande and the estudio with 7 of my friends in October for 2 nights. We had a great time! The rooms were very clean and comfy. We visited Flamenco beach on Saturday (It was Beautiful!) Later that night we had dinner at the dighy dock resturant and it was delicious. Then we stopped off at Mamacitas and danced the rest of the night to the beat of conga drums. I speak for all of us and all I can say is that I will be back next year! -- Jennifer Green


Tim -- Sep 01, 2004 
Enjoyed our 2 night stay at Casa Ensenada. It was clean and well appointed. We utilized the free 2 person kayak and enjoyed mornings and evenings on the harbor. Nice boat people that manage the place too. Beach chairs, umbrella, boogie boards were there too for no charge. -- Tim Vickers


Ruth -- Aug 28, 2004 
My daughter and I spent ten days at Casa Ensenada this August. We stayed in the Grande apartment. What I really love about this apartment are the views of the harbor from both the living room and bedroom. It was great to have a well-equipt, new kitchen since we cooked in for dinner most evenings. The apartment was very neat and clean too. Late every afternoon, after a full day at the beach, I just sat on the end of the dock watching the seagulls and looking for fish. We discovered that seagulls love bits of raw bacon! After dinner I'd go out on the dock again to check out the stars, something I can't do in Massachusetts. The in-town location of Casa Ensenada makes life easy. You can walk to everything: grocery store, liqour store, restaurants, dive shops, gift shops, post office, etc. A very convenient location! Karen and David were hosting for Butch and Jackie and they were excellent hosts, helpful and friendly. When we asked, they had good suggestions about things to do and see.

Here are a few things I would definitely recommend: For breakfast, walk down to the Panaderia near the airport and order a delicious egg, ham, and cheese sandwich with Puerto Rican coffee. Their guava-filled pastry is fabulous too. At lunch, try El Batey, a short walk from Casa Ensenada. It's a bar but they make terrific sandwiches. Our favorites were the pernil or pork sandwiches. We brought them to the beach and ate them while they were still warm. There are several grocery stores but it's challenging to find fresh produce that is not pre-packaged. We had stopped at a roadside stand on the trip from San Juan to Fajardo so we had mangoes. Puerto Rico has the best mangoes in the world! Flamenco Beach is a gorgeous beach and you will love it! But be sure to go to Luis Pena to snorkel for the day. Captains Jack and Pat can take you there on their glass-bottom boat. Also go to Melones,(Turn right after the Catholic Church and follow the road until it ends) another smaller beach which also has snorkeling and lots of coral and shells. One more thing: Be sure to rent a jeep so you can see the entire island. Although you could manage without a car, you'll have much more fun with a car! -- Ruth Manna


Becky -- Aug 17, 2004 
Last week we spent an overnight on Culebra and stayed at Casa Ensenada (Pequeno). We wished we had stayed a week or two. We flew on Vieques Air from Fajardo arriving at 7 am. The staff was outstanding, seamlessly checking us in at the early hour, familiarizing us with the rental boat (Culebra Boat Rental) and island, and recommending local dining establishments (another vote for Barbara Rosa's). We spent the next two days exploring beaches and snorkeling the reefs of the west coast by 16' skiff, we saw turtles, rays, lobster, teeming fishlife, and some of the largest and healthiest coral we have ever seen. Carlos Rosario was the highlight. The sheltered west coast was easily accessible from Ensenada through the channel so it was a smooth ride, easygoing vacay. A gas station on the channel had ice for the large cooler provided on the rental boat. The Pequeno room was clean and as-advertised; perfect for our needs as we packed light breakfasts and sandwich lunches from the big island. Culebra locals were very friendly, Carlos (Carlos Jeep Rental) was kind enough to give us a lift from the airport and freely gave advice and inside info on Culebra as well as where we were staying in Fajardo. All in all a great experience. -- Becky & Bob

Last Name; Email:
Write A Review Of This Listing
Share your experiences at this listing with other travelers and our community.

Quality
Value
Location
Service
Cleanliness

Your Name*:

Your E-Mail*:

Review Title*:

Your Review*

E-Mail Addresses, URLs and HTML Are NOT Allowed.












Advertise Your Accommodation or Travel Services


Create A ListingGreat Vacations & Exciting Destinations Listing
Add a full-page listing promoting your accommodations, tours or travel services to customers on our network of travel sites. Your listing page can have up to 26 images, unlimited text, interactive map, availability calendar, ecards, photo-gallery and more.
Rates From US $17 Per Month    » View Details

» See Link Codes
Link Codes - Add This Listing To Your Site

Add this listing to your website, CraigsList, FaceBook, MySpace or blog.

Casa Ensenada Waterfront  Guesthouse, Culebra, PR Dock
RealAdventures
Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse, Culebra, PR
Culebra, Puerto Rico Vacation Rentals
3 apartments sleep 2-6 each, 12 total. Waterfront. Patio. A/C.Hot water. Satellite TV.Hi-speed Internet. Private entrance, kitchen, & bathroom. Beach towels and coolers. Free kayaks. Boat dockage. Near town, walk to shops, restaurants, & groceries

Starting at $85 Per Night/Room

>>

Culebra, Puerto Rico Vacation Rentals | Puerto Rico Vacation Rentals | Puerto Rico Vacations | Culebra, Puerto Rico
Vacation Rentals | Vacation Rentals Puerto Rico
Link Code


Starting at
$85 US $
per Night/Room
Bedrooms..................................................
 3
Sleeps..................................................
 12
Bathrooms..................................................
 3
Isabel and Eduardo Joglar
Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse, Culebra, PR
casa ensenada guesthouse
Calle Escudero
Culebra, Puerto Rico 775

Phone: 787 742-3559
Phone: 1 866 210-0709
Website: Casa Ensenada Waterfront Guesthouse






Disclaimer: Information provided through RealAdventures website, newsletters, emails or other services has been provided directly by the companies and/or individuals owning or offering the products/services. RealAdventures does not guarantee or warranty the accuracy of the information contained herein. It is the sole responsibility of the user to ensure the accuracy and clarity of any posted material and to determine the suitability of any service for their particular needs or requirements. Likewise, it is the responsibility of advertisers to determine the suitability and credit worthiness of potential customers prior to any transaction.
/reviews/1020892_Casa-Ensenada-Waterfront-Guesthouse-Culebra-PR