Guest Reviews

Overall Rating: 8 Reviews



Only the best rafting day ever

Team -- Aug 20, 2012 10:23 am
As adventure enthusiasts and wannabe outdoorsmen, when given the opportunity to raft in the Adirondacks at the Adirondack Rafting Company, John and Laura jumped at the chance and booked the trip weeks in advance. This trip seemed to have a ripple effect, as roommate Ryan soon jumped on board just a week later. While dining (and cocktailing) in good old Portsmouth, New Hampshire on a bed and breakfast partyfest weekend trip with friends Stacy and Nate just a week later, 5 total were confirmed to join Jerry's growing group as a modest group of 11. As a group that thoroughly enjoys exhilarating, exciting, and overall fun experiences, with an emphasis on togetherness, we knew this would be a trip we would not forget.

The 5 happily climbed in the spacious 2004 Toyota Corolla with 3 men over 6' tall and two small females on the glorious cool Sunday morning of August 19th, ready for a day of fun. Although there were a few bumps in the trip from Saratoga to Indian Lake, DJ Ryan eventually fell into the role of queuing music of our childhood, and by the time we rolled up to the Adirondrack Rafting Company we were laughing and singing 'NSYNC a little too loudly (for 9:16am) and other embarrassing songs no grown men should be singing (Stacy and Laura got a pass on that one).

Eventually as we were assigned our instructors, it came time for Jerry's group to split into two. It only made sense that the 5 rugged Corolla travelers would stick together, as well as be on Dan's boat as he had a special guest on board, creating two equal boats of 7. We became fast friends as Dan introduced his wife (aka wifey aka Sara aka Weefay) and we went over nicknames and the ghosts of parties past from the night before.

As the trip worn on, we knew we were paired with the perfect instructor of our group. Dan fit in great with our group and clearly deserved the new nickname of Mayhem. We had a blast translating our commands to Spanish(?ish) and modern-day terms, such as albajo (back) and chillax (stop). We do not want to leave out that Mayhem was also completely knowledgeable and professional, and most importantly we would like to nominate Mayhem as #1 Rafting Instructor in the world. If this is not possible, please award him a plaque and many cold beverages for making our rafting trip a blast.

Please be prepared for our return during BIG WATER season and a request of Dan Mayhem.

Sincerely,
Laura Boyce, Nate Brekke, John Dreimiller, Stacy Manny, and Ryan Washburn

Adirondac Rafting Company: everything I wanted!

Don -- Aug 17, 2012 07:48 am
Yesterday was my third trip with them, over 11 years (I really should go more often!). They are professional, safe, organized, and most importantly, they make sure you have fun! Their guides know what they are doing (our guide Claudio teaches wilderness adventures all over the world!) and do all in their power to do the "extras" like surfing behind big rocks, jump off big rocks if you want, there is a spot you can jump into a fast part of the current and be swept downstream (all optional, you can certainly stay in the boat, but no one stays dry!). You get a bag lunch on the shore. The scenic Gorge. You will see other companies go by, but it looked to me like ARC was doing the most, so I call them first.
Also, go even if it you don't see much water in the area rivers, like this summer. This is a dam release so they always have white water!
Our first trip in 2001, my youngest was a bit timid, no problem, she just sat in the middle while the rest of the boat paddled. So everyone has fun.

Adirondac Rafting Company: everything I wanted!

Don -- Aug 17, 2012 07:46 am
Yesterday was my third trip with them, over 11 years (I really should go more often!). They are professional, safe, organized, and most importantly, they make sure you have fun! Their guides know what they are doing (our guide Claudio teaches wilderness adventures all over the world!) and do all in their power to do the "extras" like surfing behind big rocks, jump off big rocks if you want, there is a spot you can jump into a fast part of the current and be swept downstream (all optional, you can certainly stay in the boat, but no one stays dry!). You get a bag lunch on the shore. The scenic Gorge. You will see other companies go by, but it looked to me like ARC was doing the most, so I call them first.
Also, go even if it you don't see much water in the area rivers, like this summer. This is a dam release so they always have white water!
Our first trip in 2001, my youngest was a bit timid, no problem, she just sat in the middle while the rest of the boat paddled. So everyone has fun.

Very happy ARC customers

Christina -- May 28, 2012 11:26 pm
I am so glad we chose ARC for our rafting trip on Memorial Day. It was an hour long drive from Lake Placid but totally worth it. We were a group of nine and had five children ranging from 7 - 11 years on board. Our experienced guide Brad made sure that everybody was safe. He also told us a lot about the area and its history. We had so much fun going down the river in some class 2 and 3 rapids. There were plenty of opportunities to jump into the river and cool down which kept the kids entertained during the 5 hour long trip. UNFORGETTABLE MEMORY!

Wonderful First Time Rafting Trip

Lori -- Aug 08, 2011 01:09 pm
My boyfriend and I went white water rafting for the first time and absolutely LOVED our experience with ARC. They were organized, professional and gave us a fabulous ride. It was a great deal for a pretty much all day trip, 4 or 5 hours on the river, stop for included lunch and riding/surfing some class 3's. All the guides were phenomenal!! The other companies seemed to have teenagers running the show. Carrie was our guide and we cannot say enough good things about her. She gave us history, stories about her previous rides, and coached us perfectly. Would HIGHLY recommend ARC!!

Adirondac Rafting co was a blast

John -- Oct 04, 2010 01:55 pm
We recently took a run through the Hudson River Gorge with Adirondac Rafting Co.
It had rained hard and the river was big, we had the ultimate day of our vaction. We never dreamed the Adirondacks had such fabulous rafting. The owners of this business Bob & Carrie take great pride in their skilled group of river guides and the top quality trip on the river that they provide. absalutely the best time !! We went with the right company.

John & Lynn

Clearly Top Notch

Marv -- Jun 08, 2010 03:50 pm
This company is one of several that run the Upper Hudson Gorge in the central ADKs. Having gone with other companies, I strongly recommend this one over the others. The equipment, the base shop, the guides are a cut above the rest. The owners Bob and Kerry are charismatic and organized.

Rafting trip

Andrew -- Jul 15, 2009 02:24 pm
According to our experience from 2 years ago I can say it was prepared professionally, and guides were highly skilled. Unforgetable trip! Stress reducer and character shaping! Plan to go again this year.

Last Name; Email:
Write A Review Of This Listing
Share your experiences at this listing with other travelers and our community.

Quality
Value
Location
Service
Cleanliness

Your Name*:

Your E-Mail*:

Review Title*:

Your Review*

E-Mail Addresses, URLs and HTML Are NOT Allowed.












Advertise Your Accommodation or Travel Services


Create A ListingGreat Vacations & Exciting Destinations Listing
Add a full-page listing promoting your accommodations, tours or travel services to customers on our network of travel sites. Your listing page can have up to 26 images, unlimited text, interactive map, availability calendar, ecards, photo-gallery and more.
Rates From US $17 Per Month    » View Details

» See Link Codes
Link Codes - Add This Listing To Your Site

Add this listing to your website, CraigsList, FaceBook, MySpace or blog.

Adirondac Rafting Company Brad and crew run the Narrows
RealAdventures
Adirondac Rafting Company
Indian Lake, New York Rafting Trips
Adirondac Rafting Company runs whitewater rafting trips through the scenic and wild Hudson River Gorge in New York's Adirondack Mountains. We provide all gear, licensed river guides and a riverside lunch.

Starting at $70 Per Trip

>>

Indian Lake, New York Rafting Trips | New York Rafting Trips | New York Vacations | Indian Lake, New York
Rafting Trips | Rafting Trips New York
Link Code


Affordable Rates from
$70 US $
per Trip
Bob Rafferty
Adirondac Rafting Company
100 W. Main St.
Indian Lake, New York 12842

Phone: 518 - 523 -1635
Phone: 518-523-1635
Website: Adirondac Rafting Company

Current Search





Disclaimer: Information provided through RealAdventures website, newsletters, emails or other services has been provided directly by the companies and/or individuals owning or offering the products/services. RealAdventures does not guarantee or warranty the accuracy of the information contained herein. It is the sole responsibility of the user to ensure the accuracy and clarity of any posted material and to determine the suitability of any service for their particular needs or requirements. Likewise, it is the responsibility of advertisers to determine the suitability and credit worthiness of potential customers prior to any transaction.
/reviews/1024800_Adirondac-Rafting-Company