Guest Reviews

7 Reviews   


This is the place to stay...
  Tim -- Feb 17, 2014 12:14 pm
We stayed at Casas Gregorio for the second week of a two week stay in Troncones. What a wonderful spot. We were actually there during a slow time and had the place to ourselves.

It is right on the beach in a good surfing spot so we enjoyed watching the surfers in the morning catching waves and body boarding.

The entire stay was perfect! I highly recommend the area and Gregorio's especially. They were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean and well kept.

Gregorio's and Troncones in general are VERY safe. I have read some of the warnings but after staying in the area for two weeks I never once felt unsafe or unsure of the situation. I would not hesitate to stay here again with my children.

It was just my wife and I on this trip but we are already planning our trip for next year and will definitely stay at Casas Gregorio's again. We plan to bring our children next time but had such a relaxing fun time that we may have to reconsider bringing the kids :)

You won't regret staying here!
  Joe -- Sep 11, 2012 02:18 pm
We drove down from Mexico City to stay for a few days and what an experience! Lovely property, clean and made to feel completely at home. Fantastic service from Greg, Ernesto, Rene and Santa and a brilliant stay.

We got to see turtles laying eggs at night and also little ones being released. Very friendly locals and excellent choice of food. Horse-riding on the beach was also a favourite. We packed in a lot of relaxation in a short time, and will be certainly going back to Casas Gregorio when we get a chance.

Christmas at Gregario
  Janette -- Jul 14, 2011 01:15 pm
Our family spent Christmas at Casa Gregorio. 6 late teens and 5 adults. It was a great place for us. The adults had the beautiful front house and the kids had the bungalows. We relaxed, walked, surfed and swam. There were enough restaurants/shops in Troncones to entertain us and the bus to Zihau is simple to catch. The sea is exciting. Ernesto looked after us very well and Greg was a great host when he arrived for the last week.
Thanks for a "once in a lifetime" family holiday!


Casa Gregorio stay, February 2011
  Pam -- Apr 03, 2011 02:56 pm
My husband and I stayed in one of the two casas at Casa Gregorio for 10 days in early February 2011. The other casa was usually rented on weekends, but mid week we usually had the place to ourselves. We had originally booked a bungalow but were glad we had upgraded to the casa, as those are just a lot nicer facility, with a beachfront patio and the ocean breeze always blowing thru it. Rene and Santos do a great job of keeping the houses and grounds really clean, and were always smiling and pleasant to be around. Ernesto and his wife and kids also stopped by regularly.

Turtle nesting/hatching season was going full force. We usually saw turtle tracks on early morning beach walks, and Roberto (he runs a local turtle rescue program) did several early morning releases right in front of the house. From the patio, we also saw iguanas, whales, lots of pelicans and shore birds, and what were probably sailfish that were leaping completely out of the water (take binoculars!) And I had only seen storks maybe a few times before; there was a large flock of them that hung out in the creek by the bridge. That spot seemed to have more interesting birds and wildlife than some of the areas near Ixtapa that the buses full of tourists pay to go to.

We spent 4 nights in Zihau, then picked up a rental car at the airport for the Troncones portion of our trip. We liked having the car as opposed to using taxis, as it gave us a lot more freedom for day trips, grocery shopping, and getting back and forth from restaurants at night. There is currently a lot of concern about safety for travelers in Mexico, and we have had a lot of people ask us about that. However, we felt quite safe walking around both daytime and at night in the downtown/tourist areas of Zihua and anywhere in Troncones, and also in driving between the two towns during the day. We just took the usual precautions of being aware of our surroundings and not wearing flashy items. I would not, however, advise night driving anywhere except along the dirt beach road in Troncones. The main roads have numerous large potholes as well as steep topes in the small towns, and these would be too hard to see after dark. I would not want to break an axle and be broken down along the road!

We bought groceries a couple of times at the Comercial Mexicana in Zuhua, and usually fixed breakfast and lunch (with lots of fresh local fruit and vegies) in the casa, then went out to dinner at one of the Troncones restaurants. Our favorites were Burro Borracho and La Costa Brava. We also walked up to Cafe del Sol every morning for espressos, as they have the only commercial espresso machine in town. They also have good breakfasts and fresh baked goods (including wood fired pizzas) that we got to watch them make every morning.

The locals in Troncones were all really friendly to us, and seemed to appreciate our feeble attempts at speaking Spanish. A smile and a “buenos dias” go a long ways towards making friends. We also did some driving to other small beach towns in the area, and Troncones had by far the cleanest beach (probably since it has no large rivers coming into it). And if we could see 6 people on it at one time we made jokes about it being crowded.



Casas Gregorio Revisited
  Yurij -- Nov 11, 2010 04:59 pm




After too many years of living through harsh New England winters, we are always looking for ways to escape the ice and snow for a few weeks. For the last couple of years, old friends from Missoula, Montana have been telling us about their winter getaway south of the border and the unspoiled beauty of the Pacific Ocean at Troncones Beach, in the state of Guerrero, Mexico. Finally, last February we had a chance to join them and spend a week at Casas Gregorio -- right on the beach with a breathtaking view of the Mexican coastline and the pounding surf of the Pacific at your doorstep. As opposed to many spots along the west coast of Mexico, Trancones still offers an unspoiled natural haven of tranquility and undiscovered nature that used to be associated with Mexico’s Pacific coastline.



What’s nice about Troncones is not what’s there but what’s not there -- there isn’t anything there! A few decades ago, Troncones was nothing but a ranch town with a long deserted beach and a few casitas dotting the road. It has changed a lot since then, but even now the development is still low key with a dirt road running parallel to the beach and quiet places to stay intermixed with exclusive gringo estates hidden away behind discrete stonewalls, massive, rough-cut wooden doors and gates and pervasive tropical greenery. Troncones does not have bragging rights to undisturbed rainforest, colonial charm or pre-Columbian ruins, but it does have one outstanding characteristic that attracts travelers -- the beach. The two or three mile sandy beach is a gem and the part right in front of Casas Gregorio may be the nicest section along the whole stretch because it far enough from town -- if that is what you want to call the crossroads and collection of bodegas, pensions, hotels and restaurants a mile south -- and more importantly, there is little or no volcanic rock that juts out of the water and makes the surf dangerous as in other parts of the beach.



Read the promo on the website; all the hype is true -- it will take more than a few days to get tired of just hanging out -- the location of Casas Gregorio is conducive to moving slow: morning beachcombing, afternoon swimming in the surf or floating around in the pool with endless Coronas or margaritas, lazy siestas reading in a seaside hammock and soaking in the blazing sunsets on beautiful Troncones Beach. For the first couple of days you may not want to leave the compound, but if you decide to venture out, there’s plenty to do – it’s just a question of getting out of your hammock. For us, one the draws of the location is a world-class yoga retreat a few hundred yards down the beach where you can drop in for outdoor yoga sessions.



Casas Gregorio consists of two parallel casitas and two private bungalows on the beach. The rooms are nicely appointed and have king-sized beds with an attached bath. Each casa and each bungalow sleep 4 people – so if you have friends that are another couple, it’s a perfect way to spend a week together. The owners’ brother, Ernesto is the resident gringo and onsite general manager. He will invariably drop in after you are settled in to answer questions and ensure that the guests’ needs are met. The rest of the staff, consisting of a local couple -- Rene and Santa --- is friendly and helpful.



Casas Gregorio is not the fanciest place on the beach, but it is comfortable and secure and has everything you need for a relaxing and memorable getaway. The fully equipped kitchen is ready for cocktails and cooking seafood and fruits and vegetables that vendors bring right to your door. Santa is also available to cook if that is you want. This is only the second year we are coming back, but if we are like other folks that have been to Troncones, it may be the start of a long tradition.



Yurij and Irene Bihun, Jericho, Vermont, November 2010.

You'll really enjoy Casas Gregorio
  Matt -- Mar 22, 2010 07:16 pm
Dealing with Greg was a real pleasure. Via e mail, of course, he arranged pickup at the airport,food purchases etc.. Ernesto,Rene and Santa were absolutely great! They all went out of their way to ensure we all enjoyed our 2 week stay.The beach, beautiful...hardly anyone on it!All we neede was more time....next time.

Casas Gregorio
  Jeff -- Sep 23, 2009 12:33 am
As with all the other testimonials, we can''t say enough about how wonderful our stay was at Casas Gregorio. Troncones beach is a wonderful jewel along the Pacific coast of Mexico and Casas Gregorio shines there. Ernesto was a wonderful host, arranging for us excellent meals prepared by Angelica...fresh shrimp prepared every way possible. The house and grounds are extremely well taken care of. The view from the front porch, as you lounge in a hammock, is wonderful, and there is nothing better than sleeping to the sound of the pounding surf just yards away. Rene and Santa keep the place spotless and are always willing to go the extra step. There is no doubt in our minds that we will be back and plan on staying for a much longer time! BTW, for those boogie boarders out there, the beach right in front has a bit of rocky reef (but great waves, the beach itself is very sandy and clean), however, just a short walk down the beach toward town you can find some good sandy spots in the water with nice breaks as well. Another hint...find out where Ernesto might be playing music...even if in Zihuat, it is well worth the trip to hear him and his band.


Last Name; Email:
Write A Review Of This Listing
Share your experiences at this listing with other travelers and our community.

Quality
Value
Location
Service
Cleanliness

Your Name*:

Your E-Mail*:

Review Title*:

Your Review*

E-Mail Addresses, URLs and HTML Are NOT Allowed.







Contact Owner For More Information »



First Name: Last Name: Email:
Check Rates & Availability
Get a free quote from the owner!

Arrive
Depart

Adults
Children


Starting at USD $
65
per Night
Bedrooms..................................................
6
Bathrooms..................................................
6



More Vacation Rentals Listings   View More...

2+ bdrm condo in the Romantic Zone...

2+ bdrm condo in the Romantic Zone

300.9 mi away
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $500 per Week
Molino de Agua -- Beachfront Luxury...

Molino de Agua -- Beachfront Luxury

301.0 mi away
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $395 per Night
Peaceful/Semisecluded Condonminium on Go...

Peaceful/Semisecluded Condonminium on Golf Course

486.1 mi away
Mazatlan, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $80 per Night
Playa del Carmen Condo Vacation Rental C...

Playa del Carmen Condo Vacation Rental Casita Azul

408.1 mi away
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $750 per Week
Casa Del Quetzal...

Casa Del Quetzal

300.6 mi away
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $900 per Night
Luxurious Condo For Rent San Miguel Alle...

Luxurious Condo For Rent San Miguel Allende (me

134.5 mi away
San Miguel Allende, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $1,600 per Month
Two Stunning Villa's in Puerto Vallarta...

Two Stunning Villa's in Puerto Vallarta

456.8 mi away
Puerto Vallarta Mexico, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $275 per Night
Pianpianito Puerto Escondido...

Pianpianito Puerto Escondido

334.9 mi away
Puerto Escondido, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $60 per Night
Casa Colonial, Cozumel Vacation Villas...

Casa Colonial, Cozumel Vacation Villas

333.6 mi away
Cozumel, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $1,075 per Week
Spacious 1,600sq ft 2bed/2bath Steps fro...

Spacious 1,600sq ft 2bed/2bath Steps from Beach

408.1 mi away
Cancun, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $165 per Night
Vacation on the Mexican Riviera - Ocean ...

Vacation on the Mexican Riviera - Ocean Views

301.8 mi away
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $100 per Night
Cozumel Condo Vacation Rental Costa Azul...

Cozumel Condo Vacation Rental Costa Azul

408.1 mi away
Cozumel, Mexico
Vacation Rentals


From USD $125 per Night


Other Accommodation Listings   View More...

Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast...

Casa Machaya Oaxaca Bed & Breakfast

332.9 mi away
Abasolo, Mexico
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $75 per Night
The Epitome of Primitive Sophistication...

The Epitome of Primitive Sophistication

195.0 mi away
Manzanillo, Mexico
Hotels & Resorts


From USD $140 per Night
Casa De Tchouki...

Casa De Tchouki

194.9 mi away
Huatulco, Mexico
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $70 per Night
IDEL hostel...

IDEL hostel

180.8 mi away
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Youth Hostels


From USD $32 per Night
Haciendaalemana Zona Romantica...

Haciendaalemana Zona Romantica

300.9 mi away
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $145 per Night
CANCUN INN, Suites El Patio...

CANCUN  INN, Suites   El Patio

408.1 mi away
Abasolo, Mexico
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $600 per Month
Alcatraz Hostel...

Alcatraz Hostel

225.9 mi away
San Miguel de Allende ,Gto, Mexico
Youth Hostels


From USD $9 per Night
LAS MAGNOLIAS perfect climate--Veracruz ...

LAS MAGNOLIAS perfect climate--Veracruz Mountains

321.9 mi away
Cordoba, Veracruz, Mexico
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $35 per Night
Papaya Playa Jungle & Beach Paradise. Tu...

Papaya Playa Jungle & Beach Paradise. Tulum

408.1 mi away
Tulum, Mexico
Youth Hostels


From USD $29 per Night
Old Town Vallarta Bed and Breakfast...

Old Town Vallarta Bed and Breakfast

408.1 mi away
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $70 per Night
Backpackers Hostelling Center & Champ's ...

Backpackers Hostelling Center & Champ's Sports Bar

470.0 mi away
Cancun, Mexico
Youth Hostels


From USD $29 per Night
Colonial Mexico at Villa Sueño Azul...

Colonial Mexico at Villa Sueño Azul

226.0 mi away
Guanajuato, Mexico
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $55 per Night


Active Vacation Ideas   View More...

Hooka, Snorkel and scuba dive tours in A...

Hooka, Snorkel and scuba dive tours in Acapulco

135.8 mi away
Acapulco, Mexico
Scuba & Snorkeling


From USD $75 per Trip
Tequila Testing Horseback Riding Tour...

Tequila Testing Horseback Riding Tour

182.0 mi away
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Horseback Riding


From USD $250 per Night
Stand Up Paddleboard in Baja...

Stand Up Paddleboard in Baja

408.1 mi away
La Paz, Mexico
Kayaking & Canoeing


From USD $1,100 per Trip
Rancho Los Banos Adventure Guest Ranch...

Rancho Los Banos Adventure Guest Ranch

134.3 mi away
Los Banos, Mexico
Horseback Riding


From USD $150 per Night
Oaxaca Horseback Riding Adventures...

Oaxaca Horseback Riding Adventures

333.4 mi away
Oaxaca, Mexico
Horseback Riding


From USD $250 per Night
All inclusive surf and get away packages...

All inclusive surf and get away packages

323.1 mi away
Punta Mita, Mexico
Surfing


From USD $400 per Night
Horse riding Holiday in Mexico...

Horse riding Holiday in Mexico

408.1 mi away
Hidalgo, Mexico
Horseback Riding


From USD $199 per Night
Mexico Horse Vacation...

Mexico Horse Vacation

143.6 mi away
Valle de Bravo, Mexico
Horseback Riding


From USD $1,800 per Week
Mexico Biking Vacation...

Mexico Biking Vacation

225.9 mi away
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Bike Tours


From USD $1,040 per Trip


Nature & Wildlife Vacation Ideas   View More...

Dolphin adventure in the ocean...

Dolphin adventure in the ocean

304.9 mi away
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco , Mexico
Eco Tours


From USD $50 per Trip


Personal Growth Ideas   View More...

Yucatan Living - Online Magazine...

Yucatan Living - Online Magazine

408.1 mi away
Merida, Mexico
Cultural Experience


Cooking classes in Cabo...

Cooking classes in Cabo

279.3 mi away
Cabos, Mexico
Cooking Schools


From USD $75 per Trip
ENCUENTROS immersion Spanish...

ENCUENTROS immersion Spanish

181.5 mi away
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Language Schools


Spanish School with personalized attenti...

Spanish School with personalized attention.

213.3 mi away
Querétaro, Mexico
Language Schools


From USD $269 per Week
Mexican Home Cooking School and Romantic...

Mexican Home Cooking School and Romantic B & B

408.1 mi away
Puebla, Mexico
Cooking Schools


From USD $1,250 per Week
The Real Mexican KitchenCulinary & Hacie...

The Real Mexican KitchenCulinary & Hacienda Tours

270.5 mi away
Huamantla, Mexico
Cooking Schools


From USD $550 per Week
Learn Spanish in the best school of Guad...

Learn Spanish in the best school of Guadalajara

227.0 mi away
Guadalajara, Mexico
Language Schools


From USD $140 per Week
Culinary Adventure on the Sea of Cortez...

Culinary Adventure on the Sea of Cortez

408.1 mi away
Guaymas, Mexico
Cooking Schools


From USD $1,500 per Trip
Beachfront Culinary Adventures...

Beachfront Culinary Adventures

212.5 mi away
Todos Santos, Mexico, Mexico
Cooking Schools


From USD $1,150 per Trip
Yoga and Dance Retreat in Oaxaca Mexico...

Yoga and Dance Retreat in Oaxaca Mexico

408.1 mi away
Oaxaca, Mexico
Cultural Experience


From USD $1,289 per Week
Health/Study Vacations...

Health/Study Vacations

225.9 mi away
Iowa City, Iowa, Mexico
Health Spas & Retreats


From USD $150 per Trip
Learn Guitar & Experience Mexico...

Learn Guitar & Experience Mexico

225.9 mi away
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Cultural Experience


From USD $995 per Week


Tours & Vacation Packages   View More...

Mexico and Maya World Tours A-la-Carte...

Mexico and Maya World Tours A-la-Carte

408.1 mi away
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Sight-Seeing Tours


Puerto Vallarta Tours Guide...

Puerto Vallarta Tours Guide

301.4 mi away
puerto vallarta, Mexico
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $25 per Trip
Save Up to 50% in Tours & Excursions in ...

Save Up to 50% in Tours & Excursions in Acapulco!!

138.5 mi away
Acapulco, Mexico
Sight-Seeing Tours


Hop-on Hop-off bus pass in Latin America...

Hop-on Hop-off bus pass in Latin America

208.0 mi away
Mexico City, Mexico
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $278 per Trip


Advertise Your Accommodation or Travel Services


Create A ListingGreat Vacations & Exciting Destinations Listing
Add a multi-page listing promoting your accommodations, tours or travel services to customers on our network of travel sites. Your listing page can have up to 26 images, unlimited text, interactive map, availability calendar, ecards, photo-gallery and more.
Rates From US $17 Per Month    » View Details


Disclaimer: Information provided through RealAdventures website, newsletters, emails or other services has been provided directly by the companies and/or individuals owning or offering the products/services. RealAdventures does not guarantee or warranty the accuracy of the information contained herein. It is the sole responsibility of the user to ensure the accuracy and clarity of any posted material and to determine the suitability of any service for their particular needs or requirements. Likewise, it is the responsibility of advertisers to determine the suitability and credit worthiness of potential customers prior to any transaction.


Listing # RA-1025504