Guest Reviews

Overall Rating: 12 Reviews



Pura Vida

Steve -- Nov 02, 2011 07:20 pm
Chris and Andrea, you are bloody wonderful. What a wonderful day of riding on such beautiful and healthy horses.Your care and concern in matching the ability of the rider with the horses personalities was terrific. From the beginner to the experienced you made sure each person was safe and having a wonderful time. The scenary is amazing as was the Tucans and Monkeys. The dip in the waterfall and rubbing that volcanic mud all over was so invigerating for the skin. Your skin feels so smoothe after. You can see the love you have for your animals, including the dogs!!
Anyone visiting the area would be missing out if they didn't spend a morning riding with you.
PURA VIDA!!


Brilliant

Mary -- Jun 12, 2011 11:01 am
We were touched by Andrea and Chris. You two are soo passionate about what you do. I can speak from experience as a rider they have amazing horses and anyone would enjoy whether you have experience or not. The volcanic mud bath was a fist and the icing on the cake!!!! Everytime we come to costa rica you will be sure to find us there!!!!! Highly recommend!

Coolest thing we did in Costa Rica!

Beth -- May 03, 2010 06:59 pm
My family (including grandpa) loved the day we spent with Discovery Horse Tours. I had MANY questions before we arrived and Andrea answered each one with a smile. They put safety first with my three children ages 6, 9, and 10. We all fell in love with the horses and the dogs. We were new to horses but felt comfortable with the instruction we were given. Our half day trip was AMAZING the wildlife and information was better than the national park. My favorites were the tucan and the leaf cutter ants...so cool! The dip in the waterfall cooled us off on a hot day. We also got some great advise on surfing spots, thanks Andrea and Chris!

The Time of My Life

Georgia -- Feb 08, 2010 05:17 pm
I had an amazing time on my ride. Andrea was wonderful and knowledgeable. However, what made it so great was her friendly personality and the amazing scenery. She took me though the rainforest and I got to see all sorts of wildlife. I have some experience with horses, but her horses were so great I really could have been a first time rider and I would have been fine. I did 4 total tours while I was in Costa Rica and although each one was enjoyable my ride with Andrea was the highlight of my trip. I recommend everyone go on this tour. My only advice to you is to be prepared for the best tour ever and to meet a new friend!!! Thanks so much.
Georgia


Wonderful trip

Jan 18, 2010 03:33 pm
We had the pleasure of riding with this company at their new location. To say it was great is an understatement. The reserve is spectacular with prestine forests and lots of wildlife. The guides attention to detail and experience meant we learnt alot and got to really ride.
I would recommend this to anyone.

An excellent family ride!

Kate -- Nov 29, 2009 11:42 am
Our 7.5 year old daughter has been riding for 1.5 years and has badly wanted us to go for a ride together. It's tough to find an operator that will allow kids under 8 let alone one that met all my criteria: would allow Anna to ride alone, would understand that our 5 year old was very nervous, had well cared for horses and was safety concious without being paranoid. Discovery Tours met all these requriements and then some!
We had a great ride - Anna on her own pony up front with the guide the whole time. Our son went from "there is no way I'm going to get on a horse ever" to trotting with me to sitting alone in the saddle being led - the whole time with a smile on his face. The horses were healthy and well trained and the scenery gorgeous.
We somehow didn't know about the mud bath and waterfall in advance but Andrea hunted down some bathing suits for the adults and boy are we glad she did! A wonderful experience we'll be talking for months to come. Already planning a visit to their new farm sometime later this year.

The most incredible riding experience!

Vera -- Oct 12, 2009 01:44 pm
First, let me start by saying I'm an exprienced rider and traveller and I have seen many ranches (in various countries) so I definately have something to compare Discovery Horse Tours with. My rides with Andrea, Chris and the rest of the awesome staff were the best I've ever had. Discovery Horse Tours is the perfect combination of beautiful surroundings, great people, and top-notch horses. It was great to see the horses were happy and healthy. Andrea and Chris really go above and beyond when it comes to caring for their horses as well as the people that come to ride. I was surprised to find out most of their horses are rescues which they nurse back to health and re-train. They do an incredible job because all of their horses are well-behaved and responsive. They also take the time to carefully match horses to each person's riding ability so if you're a beginner, you'll be in good hands,or, hooves I should say!! And if you're more experienced, you'll get a thrill out of a good gallop! They put safety first but without compromising fun. The ride to the waterfalls was breath-taking and the mudbath was out of this world! This is something I can't put into words. It was surreal. Personally, this was my favourite way to find out about some of the history, culture, and wildlife of Costa Rica. Whether you ride or not, I highly recommend this experience to anyone who enjoys beautiful scenery and spending some time with wonderful people.

Outstanding Horse Tour

Dee -- Oct 09, 2009 11:42 am
My girlfriends and I were looking for something to do that we would have a blast. I can not begin to tell you what an incredible tour this is. What better way to spend an afternoon with great friends, great sights, having a great time--PURA VIDA. The tour exceeded our expectations. If you are going to Costa Rica and want a ONCE IN A LIFE TIME EXPERIENCE--this tour is it. There is nothing that you will do that can top this. The horses are beautiful and the staff was so kind. I truly recommend this Horse Tour to all who visit.

Discovery Horse Tours Rule!!

Mairi -- Sep 20, 2009 02:59 pm
If you are looking for something extraudinary and absolutely amazing to do when you are in Costa Rica, you would be missing out BIG TIME if you did'nt go and see Chris and Andy and meet their gorgeous horses.
We wanted to go on a horse tour, but were'nt sure who would be the best and look after their horses properly etc... anyway, Discovery Horse Tours were highly recommended by a tour operator in Jaco and we folllowed it up. On our first day we were warmly greeted by Andy and then introduced to our beautiful horses, all of whom are thoroughly looked after, fed and watered every day.
The tour is stunningly breathtaking! Butterflies, Monkeys, Waterfalls, Macaws, lots of stunning wildlife and countryside. We have since become good friends with Chris and Andy, and we will return every year and visit them and their animals.
Thanks guys and see you next year!
Mairi Gordon and Jake Kent

If you love horses, this is the place!

Bob -- Jun 17, 2009 04:30 pm
What is unique about Discover Horse Tours is the obvious love and care for the horses. You won't always find that in Costa Rica. Chris and Andrea are truly devoted to their animals, treating them as family and sometimes putting their care ahead of their own. They are always helpful to show you everything about their adopted country.

Discovery Horseback Tours

Tami -- Dec 13, 2008 11:11 am
What a wonderful experience. These guys treat their horses so well that I would never go anywhere else. It was an adventure for a true lover of animals and wildlife.

Riding Holiday

Dom -- Nov 18, 2008 04:49 pm
I rode with Chris and Andrea and i can truely say it was the best horse tour i have ever done. i have been riding for years and their horses were fit, responsive and very obviously loved to bits. I would recommend it to anyone. I would say though 5 days of solid riding is hard going so mix it with the national park trip and other activies, they arranged the zip line etc for us.

Last Name; Email:
Write A Review Of This Listing
Share your experiences at this listing with other travelers and our community.

Quality
Value
Location
Service
Cleanliness

Your Name*:

Your E-Mail*:

Review Title*:

Your Review*

E-Mail Addresses, URLs and HTML Are NOT Allowed.









Advertise Your Accommodation or Travel Services


Create A ListingGreat Vacations & Exciting Destinations Listing
Add a full-page listing promoting your accommodations, tours or travel services to customers on our network of travel sites. Your listing page can have up to 26 images, unlimited text, interactive map, availability calendar, ecards, photo-gallery and more.
Rates From US $17 Per Month    » View Details

» See Link Codes
Link Codes - Add This Listing To Your Site

Add this listing to your website, CraigsList, FaceBook, MySpace or blog.

Horseback riding Jaco with Discovery Horse Tours Whiskey the cover star
RealAdventures
Horseback riding Jaco with Discovery Horse Tours
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica Horseback Riding
"Highly recommended tour" from British husband and wife team. Breathtaking scenery, wonderfully responsive, safe, beautifully cared for horses. Unrivalled levels of customer service and animal welfare. Recommended in all major guide books. A must do

Starting at $65 Per Trip

>>

Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica Horseback Riding | Costa Rica Horseback Riding | Costa Rica Vacations | Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Horseback Riding | Horseback Riding Costa Rica
Link Code


Starting At
$65 US $
per Trip
Andrea and Chris Wady
Horseback riding Jaco with Discovery Horse Tours
Mata De Platano
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica


Current Search





Disclaimer: Information provided through RealAdventures website, newsletters, emails or other services has been provided directly by the companies and/or individuals owning or offering the products/services. RealAdventures does not guarantee or warranty the accuracy of the information contained herein. It is the sole responsibility of the user to ensure the accuracy and clarity of any posted material and to determine the suitability of any service for their particular needs or requirements. Likewise, it is the responsibility of advertisers to determine the suitability and credit worthiness of potential customers prior to any transaction.


Listing # RA-1040692