Guest Reviews

12 Reviews   


Pura Vida
  Steve -- Nov 02, 2011 07:20 pm
Chris and Andrea, you are bloody wonderful. What a wonderful day of riding on such beautiful and healthy horses.Your care and concern in matching the ability of the rider with the horses personalities was terrific. From the beginner to the experienced you made sure each person was safe and having a wonderful time. The scenary is amazing as was the Tucans and Monkeys. The dip in the waterfall and rubbing that volcanic mud all over was so invigerating for the skin. Your skin feels so smoothe after. You can see the love you have for your animals, including the dogs!!
Anyone visiting the area would be missing out if they didn't spend a morning riding with you.
PURA VIDA!!


Brilliant
  Mary -- Jun 12, 2011 11:01 am
We were touched by Andrea and Chris. You two are soo passionate about what you do. I can speak from experience as a rider they have amazing horses and anyone would enjoy whether you have experience or not. The volcanic mud bath was a fist and the icing on the cake!!!! Everytime we come to costa rica you will be sure to find us there!!!!! Highly recommend!

Coolest thing we did in Costa Rica!
  Beth -- May 03, 2010 06:59 pm
My family (including grandpa) loved the day we spent with Discovery Horse Tours. I had MANY questions before we arrived and Andrea answered each one with a smile. They put safety first with my three children ages 6, 9, and 10. We all fell in love with the horses and the dogs. We were new to horses but felt comfortable with the instruction we were given. Our half day trip was AMAZING the wildlife and information was better than the national park. My favorites were the tucan and the leaf cutter ants...so cool! The dip in the waterfall cooled us off on a hot day. We also got some great advise on surfing spots, thanks Andrea and Chris!

The Time of My Life
  Georgia -- Feb 08, 2010 05:17 pm
I had an amazing time on my ride. Andrea was wonderful and knowledgeable. However, what made it so great was her friendly personality and the amazing scenery. She took me though the rainforest and I got to see all sorts of wildlife. I have some experience with horses, but her horses were so great I really could have been a first time rider and I would have been fine. I did 4 total tours while I was in Costa Rica and although each one was enjoyable my ride with Andrea was the highlight of my trip. I recommend everyone go on this tour. My only advice to you is to be prepared for the best tour ever and to meet a new friend!!! Thanks so much.
Georgia


Wonderful trip
  Jan 18, 2010 03:33 pm
We had the pleasure of riding with this company at their new location. To say it was great is an understatement. The reserve is spectacular with prestine forests and lots of wildlife. The guides attention to detail and experience meant we learnt alot and got to really ride.
I would recommend this to anyone.

An excellent family ride!
  Kate -- Nov 29, 2009 11:42 am
Our 7.5 year old daughter has been riding for 1.5 years and has badly wanted us to go for a ride together. It's tough to find an operator that will allow kids under 8 let alone one that met all my criteria: would allow Anna to ride alone, would understand that our 5 year old was very nervous, had well cared for horses and was safety concious without being paranoid. Discovery Tours met all these requriements and then some!
We had a great ride - Anna on her own pony up front with the guide the whole time. Our son went from "there is no way I'm going to get on a horse ever" to trotting with me to sitting alone in the saddle being led - the whole time with a smile on his face. The horses were healthy and well trained and the scenery gorgeous.
We somehow didn't know about the mud bath and waterfall in advance but Andrea hunted down some bathing suits for the adults and boy are we glad she did! A wonderful experience we'll be talking for months to come. Already planning a visit to their new farm sometime later this year.

The most incredible riding experience!
  Vera -- Oct 12, 2009 01:44 pm
First, let me start by saying I'm an exprienced rider and traveller and I have seen many ranches (in various countries) so I definately have something to compare Discovery Horse Tours with. My rides with Andrea, Chris and the rest of the awesome staff were the best I've ever had. Discovery Horse Tours is the perfect combination of beautiful surroundings, great people, and top-notch horses. It was great to see the horses were happy and healthy. Andrea and Chris really go above and beyond when it comes to caring for their horses as well as the people that come to ride. I was surprised to find out most of their horses are rescues which they nurse back to health and re-train. They do an incredible job because all of their horses are well-behaved and responsive. They also take the time to carefully match horses to each person's riding ability so if you're a beginner, you'll be in good hands,or, hooves I should say!! And if you're more experienced, you'll get a thrill out of a good gallop! They put safety first but without compromising fun. The ride to the waterfalls was breath-taking and the mudbath was out of this world! This is something I can't put into words. It was surreal. Personally, this was my favourite way to find out about some of the history, culture, and wildlife of Costa Rica. Whether you ride or not, I highly recommend this experience to anyone who enjoys beautiful scenery and spending some time with wonderful people.

Outstanding Horse Tour
  Dee -- Oct 09, 2009 11:42 am
My girlfriends and I were looking for something to do that we would have a blast. I can not begin to tell you what an incredible tour this is. What better way to spend an afternoon with great friends, great sights, having a great time--PURA VIDA. The tour exceeded our expectations. If you are going to Costa Rica and want a ONCE IN A LIFE TIME EXPERIENCE--this tour is it. There is nothing that you will do that can top this. The horses are beautiful and the staff was so kind. I truly recommend this Horse Tour to all who visit.

Discovery Horse Tours Rule!!
  Mairi -- Sep 20, 2009 02:59 pm
If you are looking for something extraudinary and absolutely amazing to do when you are in Costa Rica, you would be missing out BIG TIME if you did'nt go and see Chris and Andy and meet their gorgeous horses.
We wanted to go on a horse tour, but were'nt sure who would be the best and look after their horses properly etc... anyway, Discovery Horse Tours were highly recommended by a tour operator in Jaco and we folllowed it up. On our first day we were warmly greeted by Andy and then introduced to our beautiful horses, all of whom are thoroughly looked after, fed and watered every day.
The tour is stunningly breathtaking! Butterflies, Monkeys, Waterfalls, Macaws, lots of stunning wildlife and countryside. We have since become good friends with Chris and Andy, and we will return every year and visit them and their animals.
Thanks guys and see you next year!
Mairi Gordon and Jake Kent

If you love horses, this is the place!
  Bob -- Jun 17, 2009 04:30 pm
What is unique about Discover Horse Tours is the obvious love and care for the horses. You won't always find that in Costa Rica. Chris and Andrea are truly devoted to their animals, treating them as family and sometimes putting their care ahead of their own. They are always helpful to show you everything about their adopted country.

Discovery Horseback Tours
  Tami -- Dec 13, 2008 11:11 am
What a wonderful experience. These guys treat their horses so well that I would never go anywhere else. It was an adventure for a true lover of animals and wildlife.

Riding Holiday
  Dom -- Nov 18, 2008 04:49 pm
I rode with Chris and Andrea and i can truely say it was the best horse tour i have ever done. i have been riding for years and their horses were fit, responsive and very obviously loved to bits. I would recommend it to anyone. I would say though 5 days of solid riding is hard going so mix it with the national park trip and other activies, they arranged the zip line etc for us.

Last Name; Email:
Write A Review Of This Listing
Share your experiences at this listing with other travelers and our community.

Quality
Value
Location
Service
Cleanliness

Your Name*:

Your E-Mail*:

Review Title*:

Your Review*

E-Mail Addresses, URLs and HTML Are NOT Allowed.







Contact Owner For More Information »



First Name: Last Name: Email:
Check Rates & Availability
Get a free quote from the owner!

Arrive
Depart

Adults
Children


Starting At USD $
65
per Trip



More Horseback Riding Listings   View More...

Adventure Trail Rides for the Experience...

Adventure Trail Rides for the Experienced Equestri

70.5 mi away
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Horseback Riding


From USD $60 per Night


Other Active Listings   View More...

Costa Rica Surf Yoga Retreats...

Costa Rica Surf Yoga Retreats

39.2 mi away
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
Surfing


From USD $1,475 per Week
Trekking in Costa Rica 8 days...

Trekking in Costa Rica 8 days

37.2 mi away
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Hiking & Trekking


From USD $1,560 per Trip PP
SCUBA Diving in Costa Rica...

SCUBA Diving in Costa Rica

149.7 mi away
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Scuba & Snorkeling


From USD $80 per Trip
Bill Beard's Costa Rica Scuba Diving & A...

Bill Beard's Costa Rica Scuba Diving & Adventure

126.4 mi away
Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica
Scuba & Snorkeling


From USD $116 per Night
Desafio Adventure Company Costa Rica...

Desafio Adventure Company Costa Rica

44.4 mi away
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Rafting Trips


From USD $85 per Trip
Hang Glide Costa Rica...

Hang Glide Costa Rica

49.8 mi away
Central Pacific, Costa Rica
Hang Gliding


From USD $95 per Trip
Rich Coast Diving, Costa Rica...

Rich Coast Diving, Costa Rica

149.7 mi away
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Scuba & Snorkeling


From USD $80 per Trip
Deep Blue Diving, Costa Rica, Playas del...

Deep Blue Diving, Costa Rica, Playas del Coco

149.7 mi away
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Scuba & Snorkeling


From USD $65 per Trip
Surf Simply's Luxury Surf Coaching Resor...

Surf Simply's Luxury Surf Coaching Resort

151.2 mi away
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Surfing


From USD $1,950 per Week
Rafting in one of top rivers in the worl...

Rafting in one of top rivers in the world

38.0 mi away
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Rafting Trips


From USD $85 per Trip
ATV Adventure Tours - Jaco - Los Suenos...

ATV Adventure Tours - Jaco - Los Suenos

49.8 mi away
Jacó, Costa Rica
ATV Trips


From USD $69 per Trip
Sailing Trips In Tamarindo...

Sailing Trips In Tamarindo

49.8 mi away
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Sailing & Yacht Charters


From USD $75 per Trip


Nature & Wildlife Vacation Ideas   View More...

Nomad America Costa Rica Camping 4X4 Roa...

Nomad America Costa Rica Camping 4X4 Roadtrip

140.1 mi away
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Eco Tours


From USD $77 per Night
Multi-Sport & Adventure Travel Trips in ...

Multi-Sport & Adventure Travel Trips in Costa Rica

49.8 mi away
San Jose, Costa Rica
Eco Tours


From USD $100 per Night
The Wonders of Costa Rica - Fully Custom...

The Wonders of Costa Rica - Fully Customizable

49.8 mi away
San Jose, Costa Rica
Eco Tours


From USD $1,199 per Trip
Sustainable Getaways & Adventures in Cos...

Sustainable Getaways & Adventures in Costa Rica

128.4 mi away
Golfito, Costa Rica
Eco Tours


From USD $999 per Trip
Costa Rica Flexi Vacations...

Costa Rica Flexi Vacations

49.8 mi away
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Eco Tours


From USD $90 per Night
Costa rica zip line adventures ...

Costa rica zip line adventures

93.8 mi away
Jaco Beach , Costa Rica
Eco Tours


From USD $50 per Trip
Deeper Costa Rica: An Eco-Trek Adventure...

Deeper Costa Rica: An Eco-Trek Adventure

43.4 mi away
San Jose, Costa Rica
Eco Tours


From USD $220 per Night
RMVS Romelia Sea Turtle Program...

RMVS Romelia Sea Turtle Program

95.7 mi away
Carrizal, Costa Rica
Eco Tours


From USD $599 per Week


Personal Growth Ideas   View More...

Learn Spanish at beautiful Tamarindo Bea...

Learn Spanish at beautiful Tamarindo Beach

159.9 mi away
Playa Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Language Schools


From USD $320 per Week
Volunteer Adventures in Costa Rica...

Volunteer Adventures in Costa Rica

133.1 mi away
Atenas, Costa Rica
Volunteer Vacations


From USD $850 per Trip
Gentle Earth Juice fasting & health food...

Gentle Earth Juice fasting & health food retreats

122.2 mi away
Cabuya, Costa Rica
Detox Retreats


From USD $200 per Night
Spanish Immersion Program in Costa Rica...

Spanish Immersion Program in Costa Rica

132.2 mi away
Liberia, Costa Rica
Language Schools


Learn Spanish and More...

Learn Spanish and More

49.8 mi away
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Language Schools


From USD $378 per Week
Study Spanish in Manuel Antonio, Costa R...

Study Spanish in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

83.8 mi away
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Language Schools


From USD $340 per Week
Yoga Retreat in Costa Rica...

Yoga Retreat in Costa Rica

64.2 mi away
La Mesa, Costa Rica
Yoga


From USD $1,293 per Trip
Costa Rica Explorations...

Costa Rica Explorations

33.1 mi away
Turrialba, Costa Rica, Costa Rica
Cultural Experience


From USD $1,000 per Week
Educational Travel in the Osa Peninsula,...

Educational Travel in the Osa Peninsula,Costa Rica

49.8 mi away
Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Summer Camps & Programs


From USD $400 per Trip
Learn Spanish in Costa Rica...

Learn Spanish in Costa Rica

50.1 mi away
San Jose, Costa Rica
Language Schools


From USD $378 per Week
Go Wild GO GREAT...

Go Wild GO GREAT

49.8 mi away
Costa Rica, Costa Rica
Survival Training


From USD $2,775 per Trip


Tours & Vacation Packages   View More...

Costa Rica & Panama Tour with Marvelus ...

Costa Rica & Panama Tour  with Marvelus Travel

64.1 mi away
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $1,100 per Trip
Desafio Adventure Company Costa Rica...

Desafio Adventure Company Costa Rica

79.6 mi away
La Fortuna, San Carlos, Costa Rica
Sight-Seeing Tours


Costa Rica Variety Tour...

Costa Rica Variety Tour

49.8 mi away
Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $1,895 per Trip
ATV Tours Central Valley Costa Rica...

ATV Tours Central Valley Costa Rica

52.3 mi away
San Jose, Costa Rica
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $130 per Trip
Costa Rica Natural Wonders...

Costa Rica Natural Wonders

53.7 mi away
San Jose, Costa Rica
Sight-Seeing Tours


Awesome Travel Deal & Discounts for All ...

Awesome Travel Deal & Discounts for All Budgets

35.6 mi away
Heredia, Costa Rica
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $100 per Night


Accommodation Ideas   View More...

Sueno Celeste, your B&B close to Rio Cel...

Sueno Celeste, your B&B close to Rio Celeste

108.7 mi away
Bijagua de Upala, Costa Rica
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $95 per Night
A Cabo Matapalo retreat at Kapu Rancho A...

A Cabo Matapalo retreat at Kapu Rancho Almendros

142.7 mi away
Peninsula de Osa, Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Vacation Rentals


From USD $70 per Night
Volare-In the heart of adventure in Cost...

Volare-In the heart of adventure in Costa Rica

38.0 mi away
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $225 per Night
Spectacular Oceanfront Multi-Level 5 Bed...

Spectacular Oceanfront Multi-Level 5 Bed Villa

159.8 mi away
Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Vacation Rentals


From USD $2,500 per Week
Romantic Getaways at Casa Gecko, Tamarin...

Romantic Getaways at Casa Gecko, Tamarindo

159.5 mi away
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Vacation Rentals


From USD $130 per Night
Manu villa rental and vacation rentals C...

Manu villa rental and vacation rentals Costa Rica

49.8 mi away
Dominical, Costa Rica
Vacation Rentals


From USD $280 per Night
Executive Spacious Modern apartment...

Executive Spacious Modern apartment

53.0 mi away
San José, Costa Rica
Vacation Rentals


From USD $75 per Night
Bill Beard's Costa Rica Volcano & Beach ...

Bill Beard's Costa Rica Volcano & Beach Vacation

126.4 mi away
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Hotels & Resorts


From USD $899 per Trip
Villa Rita Country Cottages...

Villa Rita Country Cottages

63.8 mi away
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Vacation Rentals


From USD $45 per Night
Bill Beard's Costa Rica 2016 Vacation Pa...

Bill Beard's Costa Rica 2016 Vacation Packages

67.1 mi away
Atenas, Costa Rica
Hotels & Resorts


From USD $1,399 per Night
Casa Bella Rita offers incredible canyon...

Casa Bella Rita offers incredible canyon views

60.7 mi away
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $109 per Night
A Casa Lima B&B...

A Casa Lima B&B

54.7 mi away
San Jose, Costa Rica
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $50+ per Night


Advertise Your Accommodation or Travel Services


Create A ListingGreat Vacations & Exciting Destinations Listing
Add a multi-page listing promoting your accommodations, tours or travel services to customers on our network of travel sites. Your listing page can have up to 26 images, unlimited text, interactive map, availability calendar, ecards, photo-gallery and more.
Rates From US $17 Per Month    » View Details


Disclaimer: Information provided through RealAdventures website, newsletters, emails or other services has been provided directly by the companies and/or individuals owning or offering the products/services. RealAdventures does not guarantee or warranty the accuracy of the information contained herein. It is the sole responsibility of the user to ensure the accuracy and clarity of any posted material and to determine the suitability of any service for their particular needs or requirements. Likewise, it is the responsibility of advertisers to determine the suitability and credit worthiness of potential customers prior to any transaction.


Listing # RA-1040692