Guest Reviews

9 Reviews   


active vacation for everyone
  kris -- Aug 01, 2012 01:49 pm
I'm not a repeat vacationer,but I've come back to ATA for a second year. It's basically adult camp - hiking in the morning,kayaking and swimming in the afternoon,with the ability to squeeze in time for sightseeing and some great VT microbrews. John and his guides are super friendly, knowledgeable,and flexible. They work hard to make sure you get the experience you want. They accommodate all fitness levels and ensure that everyone is safe and happy. Food and accommodations are also great. The Summit Lodge is very homey - you'll know everyone (staff,locals,guests) after a few days. And the berry cobbler is to die for.

Kayak Vermont
  Rob -- Oct 08, 2010 08:45 pm
Some buddies and I spent a full day kayaking with John and his guides at Appalachian Trail Adventures this past weekend. John was very helpful in assisting with our decision to use his company. He catered to our needs (and numerous questions) and found a great river in spite of the fact that it hadn’t rained in weeks.

We enjoyed the paddling, the views, and his team’s pleasant nature and conversation. We are already planning our next adventure with them.

Memorable vacation, great hiking
  J.Jones -- Oct 05, 2010 09:29 pm
My husband and I spent a week with ATA this past July (2010). It was a great adventure. We really enjoyed the hiking. John and his team know the Killington area intimately, hikes were well planned and well chosen by ability level. Good food and great additional activities like kayaking and yoga. We also love tennis and this lodge has 5 terrific red clay courts. This is a wonderful vacation get-away... affordable, relaxing and so fun!

My First Retirement Adventure!
  CJ -- Oct 02, 2010 10:12 pm
Last spring when I was planning my retirement I decided I wanted to begin with something very special! I had decided I was going to become a hiker at the age of 63 and wanted a supportive and safe way to begin and I found it at Appalachian Trail Adventures! Having read all their material the availability of different skills hikes I decided this would be just the right type of hiking camp for a senior beginning hiker.

I was absolutely delighted with my decision after six days with ATA. John, owner and #1 guide was able to assess my ability on my first hike and really form a program just for me during my stay. I hiked each morning, my hikes were always a little shorter than other guests so we usually split during the hikes with my guide taking me out a little earlier each day on a different route. They have such extensive knowledge of the trails in the area of Killington that this was done each day. In the afternoons we met up and had a second outing including kayaking on ponds, a river kayaking adventure, an excursion into Woodstock and a visit to the Long Trail Brewery, a visit to the New England Maple Museum, this was actually a great deal of fun,

Great Hikes and Even Greater People
  Cindy -- Sep 30, 2010 12:41 pm
ATA made my hiking vacation memorable. I made the trip alone and always felt safe. The hikes were well planned and fun. John and ATA staff were professional, knowledgeable and obviously love what they do. I highly recommend ATA to anyone who loves hiking or would like to try it. Hiking is an excellent way to escape everyday stress and ATA goes out of their way to make sure you leave Vermont feeling like you escaped!


Great hiking experience
  Sheryl -- Sep 27, 2010 06:40 pm
ATA was a very positive experience for us. This will be our third year hiking with John and Rascal. We will be returning for a weekend visit in October, having had a fabulous time in May. The guides are terrific and accomodating, the lodging facility great, and all around the value for what you get is fantastic. In addition, we get to hike with the most adorable dog in the world.


exciting, fun, active vacation!!!!
  sue -- Sep 26, 2010 01:23 pm
If you want an exciting, fun, active vacation I highly recommend ATA. John, the owner, was very knowledgeable, with a great personality, and full of energy. His program is well run and his staff was well trained. John encouraged me to go caving, I am so glad I went, it was truly an amazing experience. Hiking was awesome too with some beautiful vistas. There are a plethora of hikes to choose from depending on your ability. One afternoon we ended our day with a two hour kayak trip, bliss. The Summit lodge has a rustic Vermont charm with all the amenities. You can chill by the fireplace, get a message or use the hot tub after your day of hiking, caving and or kayaking. The food was really good too. I am looking forward to retuning next year.

Trip of a lifetime
  Sep 10, 2010 10:22 pm
We found ATA online and knew in seconds this was perfect for our honeymoon. John Keogh and his staff were perfect trail guides and John had the tastiest menu for all our meals. ATA's website and emails had us perfectly prepared for our experience with what to bring and what to expect. Each day John tailored our hiking specifically to our desires and experience. The customizing and level of service, various unexpected perks, and various excursions made us want to come back as soon as possible. John and his team knew all the best trails and they guided us to some breath taking views and exhilarating climbs. More than anything, we enjoyed getting to know everyone at ATA who were very friendly, personable, and fun to be around. This experience changed our lives, took our love for the outdoors to a higher level, and gave us an adventure of a lifetime. We highly recommend Appalachian Trail Adventures to anyone

afforable vacation with wonderful hiking & guides!
  karen -- Aug 25, 2010 08:10 pm
If you enjoy the outdoors, I highly recommend a vacation through Appalachian Trail Adventures. For an all-inclusive vacation with guided hikes and kayaking as well, it is an amazing value. This was my second trip to Vermont for hiking through ATA. I enjoyed last year so much, I booked a week-long trip for this July. Again, I had a wonderful time. John & the rest of his staff greeted me like an old friend upon my return. The new location, the Summit Lodge, was a great venue, with a wonderful view of Killington Peak. The staff of the lodge was friendly and helpful and made me feel right at home. As with last year, all of the hikes I took matched up with my fitness level, and John made sure that I made it to the top of Killington Peak this year – my first 4000 footer. This year, John added kayaking, which I think was a great addition. I certainly enjoyed my adventures on the river. All of the staff at ATA makes sure that the needs of each of the guests are met. Hiking with ATA may become my annual vacation adventure!

Last Name; Email:
Write A Review Of This Listing
Share your experiences at this listing with other travelers and our community.

Quality
Value
Location
Service
Cleanliness

Your Name*:

Your E-Mail*:

Review Title*:

Your Review*

E-Mail Addresses, URLs and HTML Are NOT Allowed.






First Name: Last Name: Email:
Check Availability
Arrive
Depart

Flexible Dates
Adults
Children


Starting at USD $
220
per Night











Kayaking & Canoeing in Vermont

Kayak & Canoe tours, rentals, sales, ins...
Kayak & Canoe tours, rentals, sales, instructionStowe, Vermont
Kayaking & Canoeing


From USD $49 per Trip
Kayak fishing or sight seeing tours...
Kayak fishing or sight seeing toursMontpelier, Vermont
Kayaking & Canoeing


From USD $125 per Trip
Vermont Tubing Adventures...
Vermont Tubing AdventuresSouth, Vermont
Kayaking & Canoeing



Active Vacations in Vermont

Affordable Guided Hiking & Kayaking Vaca...
Affordable Guided Hiking & Kayaking VacationsKillington, Vermont
Hiking & Trekking


From USD $232 per Night
Discover Killington Vermont...
Discover Killington VermontKillington, Vermont
Hiking & Trekking


U-Ken-Do Ballooning...
U-Ken-Do BallooningChamplain Islands, Vermont
Ballooning


From USD $265 per Person
Inn to Inn - Country Inns Along the Trai...
Inn to Inn - Country Inns Along the TrailBrandon, Vermont
Hiking & Trekking


From USD $175 per Night/Pers
Guided Horseback Riding in the Northeast...
Guided Horseback Riding in the Northeast KingdomEast Burke, Vermont
Horseback Riding


From USD $60 per Hour
Outdoor and Cultural Adventures for wome...
Outdoor and Cultural Adventures for women over 40South, Vermont
Hiking & Trekking


From USD $485 per Trip
Escape Routes...
Escape RoutesGreen Mountain National Forest, Vermont
Hiking & Trekking


Accommodations in Vermont

Getaways for Foodies - Red Clover Inn & ...
Getaways for Foodies - Red Clover Inn & RestaurantKillington, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $100 per Night
The Mountain Top Inn & Resort...
The Mountain Top Inn & ResortKillington, Vermont
Hotels & Resorts


From USD $170 per Night
Cortina Inn and Resort...
Cortina Inn and ResortKillington, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $89 per 239

Personal Growth in Vermont

Shelburne Vineyard Winery and Tasting Ro...
Shelburne Vineyard Winery and Tasting RoomBurlington, Vermont
Wine Tasting



Tours in Vermont

Travel Agency...
Travel AgencyChamplain Islands, Vermont
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $89 per Night
Green Mountain Railroad- Route of the Fl...
Green Mountain Railroad- Route of the FlyersQuechee, Vermont
Train Tours


From USD $21 per Person

Vacation Ideas in Vermont
Eddington House Inn...
Eddington House InnBennington, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $139 per Night
Pet Friendly Accommodations Quality Inn ...
Pet Friendly Accommodations Quality Inn Colchester, Vermont
Hotels & Resorts


From USD $72 per Night
Wonderful Views at Marshfield Inn & Mote...
Wonderful Views at Marshfield Inn & MotelMarshfield, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $70 per Night
The Chalet Motel...
The Chalet Motel, Vermont
Hotels & Resorts


From USD $85 per Night
Browse 508 Other Listings in Vermont





Advertise Your Accommodation or Travel Services


Create A ListingGreat Vacations & Exciting Destinations Listing
Add a full-page listing promoting your accommodations, tours or travel services to customers on our network of travel sites. Your listing page can have up to 26 images, unlimited text, interactive map, availability calendar, ecards, photo-gallery and more.
Rates From US $17 Per Month    » View Details

Search Vacation Ideas





Disclaimer: Information provided through RealAdventures website, newsletters, emails or other services has been provided directly by the companies and/or individuals owning or offering the products/services. RealAdventures does not guarantee or warranty the accuracy of the information contained herein. It is the sole responsibility of the user to ensure the accuracy and clarity of any posted material and to determine the suitability of any service for their particular needs or requirements. Likewise, it is the responsibility of advertisers to determine the suitability and credit worthiness of potential customers prior to any transaction.


Listing # RA-1233840