Guest Reviews

9 Reviews   


active vacation for everyone
  kris -- Aug 01, 2012 01:49 pm
I'm not a repeat vacationer,but I've come back to ATA for a second year. It's basically adult camp - hiking in the morning,kayaking and swimming in the afternoon,with the ability to squeeze in time for sightseeing and some great VT microbrews. John and his guides are super friendly, knowledgeable,and flexible. They work hard to make sure you get the experience you want. They accommodate all fitness levels and ensure that everyone is safe and happy. Food and accommodations are also great. The Summit Lodge is very homey - you'll know everyone (staff,locals,guests) after a few days. And the berry cobbler is to die for.

Kayak Vermont
  Rob -- Oct 08, 2010 08:45 pm
Some buddies and I spent a full day kayaking with John and his guides at Appalachian Trail Adventures this past weekend. John was very helpful in assisting with our decision to use his company. He catered to our needs (and numerous questions) and found a great river in spite of the fact that it hadn’t rained in weeks.

We enjoyed the paddling, the views, and his team’s pleasant nature and conversation. We are already planning our next adventure with them.

Memorable vacation, great hiking
  J.Jones -- Oct 05, 2010 09:29 pm
My husband and I spent a week with ATA this past July (2010). It was a great adventure. We really enjoyed the hiking. John and his team know the Killington area intimately, hikes were well planned and well chosen by ability level. Good food and great additional activities like kayaking and yoga. We also love tennis and this lodge has 5 terrific red clay courts. This is a wonderful vacation get-away... affordable, relaxing and so fun!

My First Retirement Adventure!
  CJ -- Oct 02, 2010 10:12 pm
Last spring when I was planning my retirement I decided I wanted to begin with something very special! I had decided I was going to become a hiker at the age of 63 and wanted a supportive and safe way to begin and I found it at Appalachian Trail Adventures! Having read all their material the availability of different skills hikes I decided this would be just the right type of hiking camp for a senior beginning hiker.

I was absolutely delighted with my decision after six days with ATA. John, owner and #1 guide was able to assess my ability on my first hike and really form a program just for me during my stay. I hiked each morning, my hikes were always a little shorter than other guests so we usually split during the hikes with my guide taking me out a little earlier each day on a different route. They have such extensive knowledge of the trails in the area of Killington that this was done each day. In the afternoons we met up and had a second outing including kayaking on ponds, a river kayaking adventure, an excursion into Woodstock and a visit to the Long Trail Brewery, a visit to the New England Maple Museum, this was actually a great deal of fun,

Great Hikes and Even Greater People
  Cindy -- Sep 30, 2010 12:41 pm
ATA made my hiking vacation memorable. I made the trip alone and always felt safe. The hikes were well planned and fun. John and ATA staff were professional, knowledgeable and obviously love what they do. I highly recommend ATA to anyone who loves hiking or would like to try it. Hiking is an excellent way to escape everyday stress and ATA goes out of their way to make sure you leave Vermont feeling like you escaped!


Great hiking experience
  Sheryl -- Sep 27, 2010 06:40 pm
ATA was a very positive experience for us. This will be our third year hiking with John and Rascal. We will be returning for a weekend visit in October, having had a fabulous time in May. The guides are terrific and accomodating, the lodging facility great, and all around the value for what you get is fantastic. In addition, we get to hike with the most adorable dog in the world.


exciting, fun, active vacation!!!!
  sue -- Sep 26, 2010 01:23 pm
If you want an exciting, fun, active vacation I highly recommend ATA. John, the owner, was very knowledgeable, with a great personality, and full of energy. His program is well run and his staff was well trained. John encouraged me to go caving, I am so glad I went, it was truly an amazing experience. Hiking was awesome too with some beautiful vistas. There are a plethora of hikes to choose from depending on your ability. One afternoon we ended our day with a two hour kayak trip, bliss. The Summit lodge has a rustic Vermont charm with all the amenities. You can chill by the fireplace, get a message or use the hot tub after your day of hiking, caving and or kayaking. The food was really good too. I am looking forward to retuning next year.

Trip of a lifetime
  Sep 10, 2010 10:22 pm
We found ATA online and knew in seconds this was perfect for our honeymoon. John Keogh and his staff were perfect trail guides and John had the tastiest menu for all our meals. ATA's website and emails had us perfectly prepared for our experience with what to bring and what to expect. Each day John tailored our hiking specifically to our desires and experience. The customizing and level of service, various unexpected perks, and various excursions made us want to come back as soon as possible. John and his team knew all the best trails and they guided us to some breath taking views and exhilarating climbs. More than anything, we enjoyed getting to know everyone at ATA who were very friendly, personable, and fun to be around. This experience changed our lives, took our love for the outdoors to a higher level, and gave us an adventure of a lifetime. We highly recommend Appalachian Trail Adventures to anyone

afforable vacation with wonderful hiking & guides!
  karen -- Aug 25, 2010 08:10 pm
If you enjoy the outdoors, I highly recommend a vacation through Appalachian Trail Adventures. For an all-inclusive vacation with guided hikes and kayaking as well, it is an amazing value. This was my second trip to Vermont for hiking through ATA. I enjoyed last year so much, I booked a week-long trip for this July. Again, I had a wonderful time. John & the rest of his staff greeted me like an old friend upon my return. The new location, the Summit Lodge, was a great venue, with a wonderful view of Killington Peak. The staff of the lodge was friendly and helpful and made me feel right at home. As with last year, all of the hikes I took matched up with my fitness level, and John made sure that I made it to the top of Killington Peak this year – my first 4000 footer. This year, John added kayaking, which I think was a great addition. I certainly enjoyed my adventures on the river. All of the staff at ATA makes sure that the needs of each of the guests are met. Hiking with ATA may become my annual vacation adventure!

Last Name; Email:
Write A Review Of This Listing
Share your experiences at this listing with other travelers and our community.

Quality
Value
Location
Service
Cleanliness

Your Name*:

Your E-Mail*:

Review Title*:

Your Review*

E-Mail Addresses, URLs and HTML Are NOT Allowed.







Contact Owner For More Information »



First Name: Last Name: Email:
Check Availability
Arrive
Depart

Flexible Dates
Adults
Children


Starting at USD $
220
per Night



Recommended for You




Similar Listings

Active Options | View More...

Discover Killington Vermont...

Discover Killington Vermont0.0 mi away
Killington, Vermont
Hiking & Trekking


Affordable Guided Hiking & Kayaking Vaca...

Affordable Guided Hiking & Kayaking Vacations1.8 mi away
Killington, Vermont
Hiking & Trekking


From EUR €209 per Night
Inn to Inn - Country Inns Along the Trai...

Inn to Inn - Country Inns Along the Trail27.9 mi away
Brandon, Vermont
Hiking & Trekking


From EUR €157 per Night
Kayak & Canoe tours, rentals, sales, ins...

Kayak & Canoe tours, rentals, sales, instruction86.7 mi away
Stowe, Vermont
Kayaking & Canoeing


From EUR €44 per Trip
U-Ken-Do Ballooning...

U-Ken-Do Ballooning99.3 mi away
Champlain Islands, Vermont
Ballooning


From EUR €238 per Trip
Adirondack Adventures...

Adirondack Adventures103.0 mi away
North River, Vermont
Rafting Trips


From EUR €18 per Trip
New Hampshire Hot Air Balloon Rides...

New Hampshire Hot Air Balloon Rides111.3 mi away
Peterborough, Vermont
Ballooning


From EUR €225 per Trip
New Englands premier hot air balloon rid...

New Englands premier hot air balloon ride operator111.3 mi away
Manchester, Vermont
Ballooning


From EUR €180 per Trip
Rafting and Zip Line Adventures in Massa...

Rafting and Zip Line Adventures in Massachusetts117.0 mi away
Berkshires, Vermont
Rafting Trips


From EUR €38 per Trip
Rafting and Kayaking in Massachusetts Be...

Rafting and Kayaking in Massachusetts Berkshires117.3 mi away
Berkshires, Vermont
Rafting Trips


From EUR €36 per Trip


More Vacation Ideas | View More...

The Inn of the Six Mountains...

The Inn of the Six Mountains4.7 mi away
Rutland, Vermont
Hotels & Resorts


From EUR €89 per Night
TPW Vacation Rentals...

TPW Vacation Rentals9.0 mi away
South, Vermont
Vacation Rentals


From EUR €135 per Night
The Jackson House Inn...

The Jackson House Inn19.9 mi away
Woodstock, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From EUR €170 per Night
Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast...

Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast22.4 mi away
Woodstock, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From EUR €117 per Night
Woodstocker 'eco' Inn...

Woodstocker 'eco' Inn22.6 mi away
Woodstock, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From EUR €117 per Night
Deer Brook Inn...

Deer Brook Inn22.7 mi away
Woodstock, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From EUR €108 per Night
Getaways for Foodies - Red Clover Inn & ...

Getaways for Foodies - Red Clover Inn & Restaurant27.7 mi away
Killington, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From EUR €90 per Night
Leading Romantic Vermont Country Inn...

Leading Romantic Vermont Country Inn27.8 mi away
Champlain Islands, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From EUR €121 per Night
White Rocks Inn Romantic Country Retreat...

White Rocks Inn Romantic Country Retreat30.6 mi away
Green Mountain National Forest, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From EUR €135 per Night
Echo Lake Inn...

Echo Lake Inn32.0 mi away
Ludlow, Vermont
Bed & Breakfasts


From EUR €89 per Night



Advertise Your Accommodation or Travel Services


Create A ListingGreat Vacations & Exciting Destinations Listing
Add a multi-page listing promoting your accommodations, tours or travel services to customers on our network of travel sites. Your listing page can have up to 26 images, unlimited text, interactive map, availability calendar, ecards, photo-gallery and more.
Rates From US $17 Per Month    » View Details


Disclaimer: Information provided through RealAdventures website, newsletters, emails or other services has been provided directly by the companies and/or individuals owning or offering the products/services. RealAdventures does not guarantee or warranty the accuracy of the information contained herein. It is the sole responsibility of the user to ensure the accuracy and clarity of any posted material and to determine the suitability of any service for their particular needs or requirements. Likewise, it is the responsibility of advertisers to determine the suitability and credit worthiness of potential customers prior to any transaction.


Listing # RA-1233840