Guest Reviews

9 Reviews   


active vacation for everyone
  kris -- Aug 01, 2012 01:49 pm
I'm not a repeat vacationer,but I've come back to ATA for a second year. It's basically adult camp - hiking in the morning,kayaking and swimming in the afternoon,with the ability to squeeze in time for sightseeing and some great VT microbrews. John and his guides are super friendly, knowledgeable,and flexible. They work hard to make sure you get the experience you want. They accommodate all fitness levels and ensure that everyone is safe and happy. Food and accommodations are also great. The Summit Lodge is very homey - you'll know everyone (staff,locals,guests) after a few days. And the berry cobbler is to die for.

Kayak Vermont
  Rob -- Oct 08, 2010 08:45 pm
Some buddies and I spent a full day kayaking with John and his guides at Appalachian Trail Adventures this past weekend. John was very helpful in assisting with our decision to use his company. He catered to our needs (and numerous questions) and found a great river in spite of the fact that it hadn’t rained in weeks.

We enjoyed the paddling, the views, and his team’s pleasant nature and conversation. We are already planning our next adventure with them.

Memorable vacation, great hiking
  J.Jones -- Oct 05, 2010 09:29 pm
My husband and I spent a week with ATA this past July (2010). It was a great adventure. We really enjoyed the hiking. John and his team know the Killington area intimately, hikes were well planned and well chosen by ability level. Good food and great additional activities like kayaking and yoga. We also love tennis and this lodge has 5 terrific red clay courts. This is a wonderful vacation get-away... affordable, relaxing and so fun!

My First Retirement Adventure!
  CJ -- Oct 02, 2010 10:12 pm
Last spring when I was planning my retirement I decided I wanted to begin with something very special! I had decided I was going to become a hiker at the age of 63 and wanted a supportive and safe way to begin and I found it at Appalachian Trail Adventures! Having read all their material the availability of different skills hikes I decided this would be just the right type of hiking camp for a senior beginning hiker.

I was absolutely delighted with my decision after six days with ATA. John, owner and #1 guide was able to assess my ability on my first hike and really form a program just for me during my stay. I hiked each morning, my hikes were always a little shorter than other guests so we usually split during the hikes with my guide taking me out a little earlier each day on a different route. They have such extensive knowledge of the trails in the area of Killington that this was done each day. In the afternoons we met up and had a second outing including kayaking on ponds, a river kayaking adventure, an excursion into Woodstock and a visit to the Long Trail Brewery, a visit to the New England Maple Museum, this was actually a great deal of fun,

Great Hikes and Even Greater People
  Cindy -- Sep 30, 2010 12:41 pm
ATA made my hiking vacation memorable. I made the trip alone and always felt safe. The hikes were well planned and fun. John and ATA staff were professional, knowledgeable and obviously love what they do. I highly recommend ATA to anyone who loves hiking or would like to try it. Hiking is an excellent way to escape everyday stress and ATA goes out of their way to make sure you leave Vermont feeling like you escaped!


Great hiking experience
  Sheryl -- Sep 27, 2010 06:40 pm
ATA was a very positive experience for us. This will be our third year hiking with John and Rascal. We will be returning for a weekend visit in October, having had a fabulous time in May. The guides are terrific and accomodating, the lodging facility great, and all around the value for what you get is fantastic. In addition, we get to hike with the most adorable dog in the world.


exciting, fun, active vacation!!!!
  sue -- Sep 26, 2010 01:23 pm
If you want an exciting, fun, active vacation I highly recommend ATA. John, the owner, was very knowledgeable, with a great personality, and full of energy. His program is well run and his staff was well trained. John encouraged me to go caving, I am so glad I went, it was truly an amazing experience. Hiking was awesome too with some beautiful vistas. There are a plethora of hikes to choose from depending on your ability. One afternoon we ended our day with a two hour kayak trip, bliss. The Summit lodge has a rustic Vermont charm with all the amenities. You can chill by the fireplace, get a message or use the hot tub after your day of hiking, caving and or kayaking. The food was really good too. I am looking forward to retuning next year.

Trip of a lifetime
  Sep 10, 2010 10:22 pm
We found ATA online and knew in seconds this was perfect for our honeymoon. John Keogh and his staff were perfect trail guides and John had the tastiest menu for all our meals. ATA's website and emails had us perfectly prepared for our experience with what to bring and what to expect. Each day John tailored our hiking specifically to our desires and experience. The customizing and level of service, various unexpected perks, and various excursions made us want to come back as soon as possible. John and his team knew all the best trails and they guided us to some breath taking views and exhilarating climbs. More than anything, we enjoyed getting to know everyone at ATA who were very friendly, personable, and fun to be around. This experience changed our lives, took our love for the outdoors to a higher level, and gave us an adventure of a lifetime. We highly recommend Appalachian Trail Adventures to anyone

afforable vacation with wonderful hiking & guides!
  karen -- Aug 25, 2010 08:10 pm
If you enjoy the outdoors, I highly recommend a vacation through Appalachian Trail Adventures. For an all-inclusive vacation with guided hikes and kayaking as well, it is an amazing value. This was my second trip to Vermont for hiking through ATA. I enjoyed last year so much, I booked a week-long trip for this July. Again, I had a wonderful time. John & the rest of his staff greeted me like an old friend upon my return. The new location, the Summit Lodge, was a great venue, with a wonderful view of Killington Peak. The staff of the lodge was friendly and helpful and made me feel right at home. As with last year, all of the hikes I took matched up with my fitness level, and John made sure that I made it to the top of Killington Peak this year – my first 4000 footer. This year, John added kayaking, which I think was a great addition. I certainly enjoyed my adventures on the river. All of the staff at ATA makes sure that the needs of each of the guests are met. Hiking with ATA may become my annual vacation adventure!

Last Name; Email:
Write A Review Of This Listing
Share your experiences at this listing with other travelers and our community.

Quality
Value
Location
Service
Cleanliness

Your Name*:

Your E-Mail*:

Review Title*:

Your Review*

E-Mail Addresses, URLs and HTML Are NOT Allowed.







Contact Owner For More Information »



First Name: Last Name: Email:
Check Rates & Availability
Get a free quote from the owner!

Arrive
Depart

Adults
Children


Starting at USD $
220
per Night



More Kayaking & Canoeing Listings   View More...

Canoe, kayak and tube the famous Shenand...

Canoe, kayak and tube the famous Shenandoah River

449.1 mi away
Luray, Virginia
Kayaking & Canoeing


Maine Huts & Trails...

Maine Huts & Trails

157.0 mi away
Kingfield, Maine
Kayaking & Canoeing


From USD $86 per Night
Kayak & Canoe tours, rentals, sales, ins...

Kayak & Canoe tours, rentals, sales, instruction

53.9 mi away
Stowe, Vermont
Kayaking & Canoeing


From USD $49 per Trip
River and Trail Outfitters...

River and Trail Outfitters

393.7 mi away
Knoxville, Maryland
Kayaking & Canoeing


From USD $57 per Trip
Bolivar/NTR Canoe Livery...

Bolivar/NTR Canoe Livery

395.0 mi away
Bolivar, Ohio
Kayaking & Canoeing


From USD $18 per Trip
EcoTourz Kayak and Bike Rental...

EcoTourz Kayak and Bike Rental

176.2 mi away
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Kayaking & Canoeing


From USD $25 per Trip


Other Active Listings   View More...

Lehigh River Whitewater Rafting in the P...

Lehigh River Whitewater Rafting in the Poconos PA

218.4 mi away
Weatherly, Pennsylvania
Rafting Trips


From USD $30 per Trip
Adirondac Rafting Company...

Adirondac Rafting Company

73.8 mi away
Indian Lake, New York
Rafting Trips


From USD $70 per Trip
Dirt bike training School and Adventure ...

Dirt bike training School and Adventure Dual sport

320.1 mi away
.Pennsylvania, Pennsylvania
Motorcycle Tours


From USD $250 per Trip PP
Rafting and Zip Line Adventures in Massa...

Rafting and Zip Line Adventures in Massachusetts

72.7 mi away
Charlemont, Massachusetts
Rafting Trips


From USD $42 per Trip
Mountain Skills Climbing Guides- rock/ic...

Mountain Skills Climbing Guides- rock/ice climbing

148.9 mi away
New Paltz, New York
Rock Climbing


From USD $125 per Trip
Crab Apple Whitewater Rafting in New Eng...

Crab Apple Whitewater Rafting in New England

81.7 mi away
The Forks, Maine
Rafting Trips


From USD $40 per Trip
New Englands premier hot air balloon rid...

New Englands premier hot air balloon ride operator

69.2 mi away
Manchester, New Hampshire
Ballooning


From USD $200 per Trip
River Riders...

River Riders

395.2 mi away
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Rafting Trips


Northeast Whitewater...

Northeast Whitewater

199.5 mi away
Greenville, Maine
Rafting Trips


From USD $59 per Trip
Sailing off Cape Cod...

Sailing off Cape Cod

184.2 mi away
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Sailing & Yacht Charters


From USD $25 per Trip
Delmarva Balloon Rides...

Delmarva Balloon Rides

373.8 mi away
Chester, Maryland
Ballooning


From USD $245 per Trip
Ace Adventure Resort...

Ace Adventure Resort

433.7 mi away
Minden, West Virginia
Rafting Trips




Nature & Wildlife Vacation Ideas   View More...

Nature & History Tours- Catskills, Pocon...

Nature & History Tours- Catskills, Poconos & more

214.1 mi away
New York, New York
Eco Tours


From USD $109 per Trip
View Northern Maine's Boreal Species...

View Northern Maine's Boreal Species

308.7 mi away
Eagle Lake, Maine
Birdwatching


From USD $135 per Night
Down East Nature Tours...

Down East Nature Tours

232.4 mi away
Bar harbor, Maine
Birdwatching


Eco Sailing Expeditions...

Eco Sailing Expeditions

194.4 mi away
Belfast, Maine
Eco Tours


From USD $700 per Week
Cape May Whale Watcher...

Cape May Whale Watcher

344.9 mi away
Cape May, New Jersey
Whale Watching


From USD $25 per Trip
Capt. Bill & Sons Whale Watch...

Capt. Bill & Sons Whale Watch

129.8 mi away
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Whale Watching


From USD $45 per Trip
Maryland Family Eco Kayaking Tours and H...

Maryland Family Eco Kayaking Tours and Hiking

440.0 mi away
Friendsville, Maryland
Eco Tours


From USD $55 per Trip


Personal Growth Ideas   View More...

Away from the everyday...

Away from the everyday

401.5 mi away
Capon Bridge, West Virginia
Summer Camps & Programs


From USD $1,250 per Week
Saratoga Summer Getaway...

Saratoga Summer Getaway

174.7 mi away
Saratoga Springs, New York
Cultural Experience


From USD $1,195 per Trip PP
Frankford Health Associates...

Frankford Health Associates

269.0 mi away
Feasterville Trevose, Pennsylvania
Fitness & Weight Loss


Shelburne Vineyard Winery and Tasting Ro...

Shelburne Vineyard Winery and Tasting Room

61.7 mi away
Shelburne , Vermont
Wine Tasting


Fuller Craft Museum...

Fuller Craft Museum

139.9 mi away
Brockton, Massachusetts
Artisan & Trade Workshops


From USD $8 per Trip


Tours & Vacation Packages   View More...

AdventureTours in NJ...

AdventureTours in NJ

212.1 mi away
Parsippany , New Jersey
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $99 per Trip
Free New York City Tours...

Free New York City Tours

212.6 mi away
New York, New York
Sight-Seeing Tours


New Zealand & Australia bespoke travel...

New Zealand & Australia bespoke travel

186.8 mi away
East Hampton, New York
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $200 per Night
Need a Adventure In Your Life ?...

Need a Adventure In Your Life ?

456.3 mi away
Mentor, Ohio
Sight-Seeing Tours


Your Path to Nature Travel at IWA...

Your Path to Nature Travel at IWA

396.7 mi away
South Puget Sound, Washington
Sight-Seeing Tours


Exclusive Journeys OverACuppaTeaTours to...

Exclusive Journeys OverACuppaTeaTours to England

138.2 mi away
Willimantic, Connecticut
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $2,499 per Trip
Maine Foodie Tours...

Maine Foodie Tours

126.2 mi away
Portland, Maine
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $55 per Trip PP
Family Travel Planning...

Family Travel Planning

93.6 mi away
Hudson, New Hampshire
Sight-Seeing Tours


Destinations by Roxanne...

Destinations by Roxanne

488.9 mi away
Massillon, Ohio
Sight-Seeing Tours


Gotham Walking Tours...

Gotham Walking Tours

214.0 mi away
New York, New York
Sight-Seeing Tours


From USD $100 per Trip


Accommodation Ideas   View More...

Northern Exposure Nantucket...

Northern Exposure Nantucket

215.3 mi away
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Vacation Rentals


From USD $2,000 per Week
Mt. Rainier Cabins at Three Bears Lodge...

Mt. Rainier Cabins at Three Bears Lodge

397.4 mi away
Ashford, Washington
Vacation Rentals


From USD $175 per Night
Fleur de Lis Beach Motel...

Fleur de Lis Beach Motel

341.5 mi away
Wildwood, New Jersey
Hotels & Resorts


From USD $94 per Night
NYC Waterfront Home Views of Manhattan S...

NYC Waterfront Home Views of Manhattan Skyline

218.8 mi away
Far Rockaway, New York
Vacation Rentals


From USD $175 per Night
Spacious Lakefront Cabins on Moosehead L...

Spacious Lakefront Cabins on Moosehead Lake Maine

198.6 mi away
Greenville Junction, Maine
Vacation Rentals


From USD $90 per Night
Placid Bay Inn On Lake Placid Vacation G...

Placid Bay Inn On Lake Placid Vacation Getaways

73.9 mi away
Lake Placid, New York
Hotels & Resorts


From USD $95 per Night
Captain Lord Mansion, an intimate Maine ...

Captain Lord Mansion, an intimate Maine Coast B&B

117.6 mi away
Kennebunkport, Maine
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $199 per Night
Falls Brook Yurt Rentals in the Adironda...

Falls Brook Yurt Rentals in the Adirondacks

59.1 mi away
Accord, New York
Vacation Rentals


From USD $95 per Night
Getaway to Inns At Blackberry Common in ...

Getaway to Inns At Blackberry Common in Camden, ME

184.9 mi away
Camden, Maine
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $149 per Night
The Victorian Ladies Inn...

The Victorian Ladies Inn

169.2 mi away
Newport, Rhode Island
Bed & Breakfasts


From USD $185 per Night
Charming & Private - Heart of East Hampt...

Charming & Private - Heart of East Hampton Village

189.6 mi away
East Hampton, New York
Vacation Rentals


From USD $450 per Night
Hamptons Rentals - heated pool, WiFi, ne...

Hamptons Rentals - heated pool, WiFi, near ocean

189.7 mi away
East Hampton, New York
Vacation Rentals


From USD $1,950 per Week


Advertise Your Accommodation or Travel Services


Create A ListingGreat Vacations & Exciting Destinations Listing
Add a multi-page listing promoting your accommodations, tours or travel services to customers on our network of travel sites. Your listing page can have up to 26 images, unlimited text, interactive map, availability calendar, ecards, photo-gallery and more.
Rates From US $17 Per Month    » View Details


Disclaimer: Information provided through RealAdventures website, newsletters, emails or other services has been provided directly by the companies and/or individuals owning or offering the products/services. RealAdventures does not guarantee or warranty the accuracy of the information contained herein. It is the sole responsibility of the user to ensure the accuracy and clarity of any posted material and to determine the suitability of any service for their particular needs or requirements. Likewise, it is the responsibility of advertisers to determine the suitability and credit worthiness of potential customers prior to any transaction.


Listing # RA-1233840